![]() |
|
|
|||
I think MNBlue covered the answer, but I want to clarify one part of the rule.
Obstruction awards the runner the base they would have obtained in the umpires judgement had there not been any obstruction. So if there was no turning themselves about(bad hokey pokey reference, I know) with the short stop then what base would that runner have obtained?? You think it would have been home, the umpire felt it was only 3B (or they misapplied the obstruction rule and only gave one base which is WRONG, they should get whatever base in their judgement they would have obtained...could be back a base depending on the situation). This is why MNBlue's comment is so important you have to be careful as a coach sending runners past the base they were obstructed because you can't read the umpires mind. Most umpires will drop the delayed dead ball signal some time during the play (hard to run with one wing sticking out) some will try to show the signal again after they reach the next base if they are still protecting that runner, but again this isn't always done due to different situations that occur. |
|
|||
Dave and MN Blue have covered the play.
I would add that as a coach, you need to know this concept and the interference concept like the back of your hand. Obviously, this umpire knew it had occurred and signaled it. You knowing the parameters of the rule would have ensured at least your runner staying at third and maybe getting awarded home. Anytime you are in a game or at home thinking about the game and you say to yourself "I think," then you need to get the book out or come ask us or one of your local umpires. Most will be glad to answer your questions. Thanks for the question. |
|
|||
Thanks guys
@ Andy — to answer the question that you ask coaches, no, I would not have sent the runner if the question was would she be out or safe. However, the reason she would have been out is because she had to slow down doing the hokey pokey to get around the shortstop. Had the obstruction not occurred in the first place, I am pretty confident it would have been an easy score.
Thanks for all the explanations guys. They have been very helpful. |
|
|||
That is a judgment that will be made by the umpire, and if he agreed with you, there would be no need to send the runner, since he would award the player home anyway. But, if he does not agree with you, the out at home will stand.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
One of my favorite comments to coaches:
Coach the game and players, not the call.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
obstruction | scyguy | Baseball | 7 | Wed Apr 21, 2004 09:11pm |
NSA / Obstruction | Bandit | Softball | 4 | Mon Apr 19, 2004 02:26pm |
Is it obstruction or not? | JRSooner | Baseball | 2 | Thu Apr 08, 2004 10:26pm |
Obstruction..or not? | Andy | Softball | 7 | Thu Apr 08, 2004 12:58pm |
Obstruction | sprivitor | Softball | 16 | Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:46am |