The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 01:12pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Assist?

R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, 2 outs. Ball hit to left.

R1 crosses the plate easily, but misses the plate. R2 crosses the plate. Coach prevents R1 from entering the dugout and tells her to touch the plate, which she does.

Defensive coach calls time and asks, "Why don't we have an out for that coach pushing his player back to touch the plate?"

How do you answer this question?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 18
R1 can't retouch after a subsequent runner has scored.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpringtownHawk View Post
R1 can't retouch after a subsequent runner has scored.
Hence, you can't assist that runner.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 02:44pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpringtownHawk View Post
R1 can't retouch after a subsequent runner has scored.
Hmmm... say that to the coach, and all you'll get is a blank stare... he asked you why there's no out for assisting the runner.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 02:45pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Hence, you can't assist that runner.
So do you say what ST said and add this? (PS to all --- I'm not asking the rule. I know the rule. I'm asking you how YOU would answer that exact question from the coach.)
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
So do you say what ST said and add this? (PS to all --- I'm not asking the rule. I know the rule. I'm asking you how YOU would answer that exact question from the coach.)
No, you have to dumb it down - they're coaches.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, 2 outs. Ball hit to left.

R1 crosses the plate easily, but misses the plate. R2 crosses the plate. Coach prevents R1 from entering the dugout and tells her to touch the plate, which she does.

Defensive coach calls time and asks, "Why don't we have an out for that coach pushing his player back to touch the plate?"

How do you answer this question?
How did the coach prevent R1 from entering dugout?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 27, 2012, 08:07pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
No, you have to dumb it down - they're coaches.

Absolutely, too dumb to have one of his players appeal the missed base.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 28, 2012, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
coach i never saw the coach push the runner back to the plate. as you describe the situation, this is a valid answer.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2012, 03:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
because coach, in this play, the lead runner can no longer be assisted.

or for you purists, "coach the rules will not allow me"

(pause for blank stare)
now coach do you have another question?

Last edited by cteben; Sun Apr 29, 2012 at 04:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2012, 06:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd, 2 outs. Ball hit to left.

R1 crosses the plate easily, but misses the plate. R2 crosses the plate. Coach prevents R1 from entering the dugout and tells her to touch the plate, which she does.

Defensive coach calls time and asks, "Why don't we have an out for that coach pushing his player back to touch the plate?"

How do you answer this question?
How did the coach stop the player from entering the dugout.......important.....

jOEL
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2012, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 758
This is certainly an odd one. I think that I would softly turn the conversation toward one about appeals and let the coach figure it out.

There seems to be a blending of two different rules: 1 - physically assisting a runner & 2 - touching or retouching bases in a legal order. While they should be read together, I'm not so sure that they should be blended into one.

Can you not assist someone to do something that they aren't permitted to do?

The rules say (for the 'purists') that you can't assist a runner after they have scored. The fact that another runner has also score neither changes the fact that R1 scored (albeit missing home plate) and 2 that the coach physically assisted her back to the base. I do see the trouble with the "assist" part but nothing seems to say you still can't have an out for that.

Either way, I should be walking away with an out.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2012, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 128
xtreamump

Quote:
Originally Posted by esqump View Post
this is certainly an odd one. I think that i would softly turn the conversation toward one about appeals and let the coach figure it out.

There seems to be a blending of two different rules: 1 - physically assisting a runner & 2 - touching or retouching bases in a legal order. While they should be read together, i'm not so sure that they should be blended into one.

Can you not assist someone to do something that they aren't permitted to do?

The rules say (for the 'purists') that you can't assist a runner after they have scored. The fact that another runner has also score neither changes the fact that r1 scored (albeit missing home plate) and 2 that the coach physically assisted her back to the base. I do see the trouble with the "assist" part but nothing seems to say you still can't have an out for that.

Either way, i should be walking away with an out.
+1 (out)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2012, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
No one likes an OOJ (Overly-Officious Jerk).

If the runner going back to touch the plate is moot, then I would say that any assistance from the coach is also moot.

Last edited by BretMan; Sun Apr 29, 2012 at 08:58am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 29, 2012, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by cteben View Post
because coach, in this play, the lead runner can no longer be assisted.

or for you purists, "coach the rules will not allow me"

(pause for blank stare)
now coach do you have another question?
I like that
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NBA official gets credit for an assist Mark Padgett Basketball 2 Fri Jan 30, 2009 08:35am
assist the runner sm_bbcoach Football 6 Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:18pm
Fly Ball Assist JamesV Softball 15 Sat Jun 11, 2005 09:48pm
Physical assist greymule Softball 4 Fri Mar 12, 2004 07:24am
Is this a physical assist? greymule Softball 8 Thu Aug 01, 2002 08:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1