The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2012, 06:40am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Why would you think that the batter-runner isn't included as one of the runners that must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference?

Yes, there are some rules that apply exclusively to batters, or batter-runners or runners. But the rule book has plenty of places where the term "runner" is generically used to describe both a batter-runner and a runner.

Just a quick glance at the rule book found a handful. Take a look at FED rule 8-4-3, where it talks about the penalty for obstruction, it says that "the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction are awarded the bases they would have reached...". This penalty could obviously include a batter-runner, even though the rule says "each runner".

Would your conclusion be that this rule doesn't apply to a batter-runner, because the rule refers only to runners?

A little further down in that section it talks about runners advancing without liability to be put out and base awards for batted or thrown balls that go out of play. All of the awards refer to runners- no mention of any batter-runners in there. Does this mean that the base awards don't apply to them?
What do you propose then happens with the BR assuming she hasn't reached 1st? The OP doesn't specify but my guess is this is the case.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2012, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
What do you propose then happens with the BR assuming she hasn't reached 1st? The OP doesn't specify but my guess is this is the case.
Good point. Too bad the rule doesn't explicity cover it!

I'd have to say that the B/R gets first base...assuming it is a "point not covered by the rules".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
coach uses first free-throw for mini time out AKOFL Basketball 13 Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:46am
[NFHS] Post-season draws? Stat-Man Soccer 2 Wed Nov 05, 2008 10:20pm
T coach or throw out!!! chrs_schuster Basketball 47 Thu Dec 15, 2005 05:17pm
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
coach request time out to correct AP throw-in Teddly Basketball 1 Sat Dec 13, 2003 08:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1