The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2003, 09:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally posted by WillyS
I had this very thing happen last week in a High School Varsity game(NFHS).
Bottom of the 7th, bases loaded, one out, score tied 2 - 2.
I'm PU, Batter hits two hopper to the pitcher, throw goes home to F2 for force out, Catcher steps up and throws to first. BR comes out of the running lane about two steps before the bag. Just as BR's lead leg is in the air to touch 1B, throw hits her in the top of the helmet and caroms into RF.
1b was reaching for the ball and appeared she may have contacted it too. I did not rule interference in this case, since I felt the BR needs to come out of the running lane at some point to touch the bag. (Double base not being used). Partner felt the same.

Losing coach came over while we were changing in the parking lot and asked if interference could/should have been ruled.

Did I make the right call?
Judgement call. So yes, from what you described, I would say that you probably did make the correct call, though of course, it is a HTBT kind of play. You are right in saying that at some point the B/R needs to leave the lane in order to touch the base.

Scott
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1