View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2003, 11:56am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
ASA or NFHS FP. Bases loaded, 0 outs or 1 out.

Ball hit back to pitcher, throws to home for the force on R1. F2 throws to first but hits BR with the ball. BR is out of the running lane. Interference is called.

How many outs do you have on this play and where do you place the remaining runners?

(This actually happened this weekend in a 12u ASA national qualifier tournament)
Speaking ASA and assuming the call on the BR was legitimate, you just rang up two outs. Unless the inning was over, R2 & R3 are placed on the base last touched at the time of the interference.

ASA Rule 1 Force out
Rule 8.7.C
Rule 8.2.E & Effect

That was easy, but please don't tell me that when the umpire ruled on the 3' lane violation, they also ruled it alleviated the force and did not rule R1 out at the plate.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote