The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 11, 2003, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
R1, no outs. The offensive team's pitcher is at bat, is hit by a pitch and awarded first.

Batter's ankle is sore and she walks gingerly to first, past first and is about 20 feet "down the line" stretching her ankle that had been hit. Offensive coach sends a runner out to be curteousy runner. She takes her place on the bag.

The umpire makes no acknowledgement of this, but does not comment on it. The original batter runner, then walks slowly back to her dugout on the third base line. When she enters the dugout, the PU rules her out for not touching first. (I was BU and frankly missed it.)

I then instructed R1 that she had to return to first since BR never touching first on the HBP negated her being forced to second.

I do not believe I've ever heard of a similar play.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1