The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 05, 2011, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Catcher's Position

ASA Men's SP

1 out, 3-2 count on RH batter, R1 on 2B. As the pitcher begins his delivery, the catcher steps into the LH batter's box hoping to short hop the pitch in case the runner attempts a steal.

The batter noticed the catcher as the pitch passed through the strike zone and just behind the plate and R1 takes off for 3B.

Your call/thoughts?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 05, 2011, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
My thought is...it looks like there is a hole in the rule book!

If this is a violation 6-6-A, there doesn't seem to be any penalty associated with it. Editorial gaffe?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 06, 2011, 04:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Bret, your right 6-6-A has no penalty associated with it, however, 6-6-A basically duplicates 6-4-A which states that F1 shall not release a pitch until all defensive players are positioned in fair territory except that F2 must be in the catcher's box. 6-4-A does have a rule book penalty, it is an illegal pitch.

If the batter swings or otherwise makes contact with the illegal pitch, what you see is what you get. Otherwise, ball to the batter. (Remember we are talking about slow pitch here.)

My guess is that 6-6-A has no penalty because the infraction is really on the pitcher for releasing the pitch after F2 steps out of the catcher's box. IPs are charged to the pitcher, not the catcher.

The next thing I can see happening in this play is catchers obstruction when the batter tries to swing at the illegal pitch and the bat makes contact with F2 who is standing in the opposite batters box as the pitch arrives. Not smart.

Last edited by UmpireErnie; Tue Sep 06, 2011 at 04:07am. Reason: Add note to IP penalty that this is for slow pitch
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 06, 2011, 06:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I suppose the next issue might be that the catcher moving into the LH batter's box could be considered as "a position in the batter's line of vision" (6-4-B). Then you would have to eject him!

By the way, this is also an illegal pitch, even though it is not a violation by the pitcher. So that kind of conflicts with your logic of why no penalty is associated with 6-6-B. A "non-pitcher" could violate 6-6-A or B.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 06, 2011, 06:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Illegal pitch (6-4-A), catcher's obstruction unlikely since ball was already through the strike zone, ball 4 (7-5-E), the ball remains live (8-1-C-1).
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 06, 2011, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Springfield, VA
Posts: 23
What rule set are you guys using? ASA the rule is 6-5-A/B. Please remember to note what rule set you are using.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 07, 2011, 02:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
I suppose the next issue might be that the catcher moving into the LH batter's box could be considered as "a position in the batter's line of vision" (6-4-B). Then you would have to eject him!

By the way, this is also an illegal pitch, even though it is not a violation by the pitcher. So that kind of conflicts with your logic of why no penalty is associated with 6-6-B. A "non-pitcher" could violate 6-6-A or B.
OK my brother now this is simply splitting hairs because obviously you and I have the same call here. But just for fun debate... I believe it IS a violation by F1 because it is not illegal for F2 to be out of the catcher's box until F1 releases a pitch. The action which triggers the penalty is F1 releasing the pitch this is why I say the infraction is considered to be on F1 even if it was the fault of another defensive player. In the scorebook, the IP is gonna be charged to F1.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 06, 2011, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
There is a missing penalty for this rule (6SP.6.A).

This should be corrected this year.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
body position for Position B and C tibear Baseball 66 Thu Jun 26, 2008 02:27pm
Catcher's Int bossman72 Baseball 3 Sun Jul 08, 2007 07:21pm
Windup position - position of pivot foot BigGuy Baseball 3 Thu May 31, 2007 02:21am
catcher's box uncas Baseball 7 Mon Jul 19, 2004 09:47pm
Catcher's Box TexBlue Softball 7 Fri Jan 16, 2004 07:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1