Fair or Foul
There is a pop up in the infield that lands just past third base in fair territory then back spins about three feet and goes into foul territory on the home plate side of third base, is this a fair or foul ball. Nobody at anytime made contact with the ball. This happened in a game last night and three umpires said fair and two umpires had it foul. When you read the ASA Manual for Fair Ball Rule 1 Line F it states First falls or is touched on or over fair territory beyond first, second or third base. Then Foul Ball Rule 1 Line A it states Settles or is touched (not caught) on or over foul territory between home and first base or home and third base.
This particular play has both instances Fair Ball First Falls beyond third base
Foul Ball Settles over foul territory between home and third.
Well I called it FAIR BALL.
Last edited by Mass Ump; Fri Jun 17, 2011 at 02:00pm.
Reason: Spelling
|