![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I usually pull out my line-up card and ask the coach for a substitute. If a player is leaving the game, it is obvious you need someone to go in for that player or the coach indicates the team will play shorthanded, so you are not tipping anything off or giving away some secret. That does not mean you need to direct the coach that the sub must go touch the awarded base(s). If asked, just tell the coach you cannot offer direction to either team. If s/he doesn't or cannot figure it out, shame on the coach.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Question:
If the team on offense was playing w/ 9 [assuming girls FP] and had no subs - ASA would result in an out? NFHS would result in a temporary runner being put in for the injured player? If this were a serious situation where the runner was unconscious or some other ambulance-required situation where the injured player was removed via stretcher. I'm sure that during all the hub-bub, the coach(es) would have been in and out of the dugout looking for icepaks, cell phones, whatever. So the player and coach [probably multiple times] has "left the field". After order is restored, do you allow the offense the opportunity for a sub, providing they have one [for ASA]? I've been involved in 1 situation where an ambulance was needed, but it was because of the catcher. In that case, coaches ageed to suspend the game and pick it up at a later time. Thanx.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
The ball was dead, so leaving the field is irrelevant.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Yaaahhh... OBS is a delayed dead ball, dead upon the tagging of an OBS'd runner. If the runner gets up, goes into the dugout, she cannot come out of the dugout to then touch awarded base(s). Yes?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Presumably, the ball could also have been dead due to the injury (if it wasn't already dead due to the OBS runner being tagged).
You can judge that the offense has completed whatever base running responsibilities they are going to complete, but you can't hang your hat on entering the dugout alone (i.e. abandonment) since the ball is dead.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Are you implying you would let all these people come onto the field to tend to an injured runner - and not kill the ball?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Back a few, you said the above.
I believe it is most certainly relevant. This in the case of an uninjured runner who, for whatever reason, didn't wait for the award of bases, or complete her baserunning responsibilities. Once she enters the dugout, I don't think she can come back out to complete those responsibilities. Now in the case of a more severe injury which may involve a player being removed on a stretcher, do we "make allowances"? And to answer another question, once the OBS'd runner is tagged out, we've gone from DDB to DB or, effectively time out. And anyone who needed to be on the field to attend to an injury would certainly be permitted.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bases Awarded Question | JFlores | Baseball | 3 | Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:18pm |
| Bases Awarded?? | slowballbaker | Baseball | 28 | Tue Jun 17, 2008 03:49pm |
| Injury on Awarded Bases | TussAgee11 | Baseball | 8 | Tue May 06, 2008 11:01am |
| # of bases awarded (overthrow)? | Robmoz | Softball | 19 | Mon Jun 28, 2004 06:21pm |
| Awarded bases - hit by pitch | Blue316 | Baseball | 8 | Thu Apr 18, 2002 08:28am |