![]() |
|
|
|||
I too question the call. I don't find it valid to say that because in 3 or 4 turns she deviated from her original base path. Each time R1 turns to reverse direction, she establishes a new base path. Unless there was a defender with the ball within 3 feet of R1 and trying to make a tag, there is no violation here.
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
Quote:
also, as few as the offensive coach and his request to 're-place' R2 and B3, I was explaining to him the ruling on the violation and before I could get to where R2 and B3 should be placed, he interrupted and made the request. ![]() Last edited by okla21fan; Thu May 19, 2011 at 11:58am. |
|
|||
If your partner wasn't sure enough to make the call, he isn't sure enough to convince me to change my call.
IMO, based solely on the play as you presented it, you were fine until you changed your call.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
my angle was closer to a 90 degree and about 20 feet from R!, while my partner's angle was pretty much 'in line' with the established basepath. If he had it and for what ever reason didn't call it (even though I didn't), I need more input which he gave to convince that the call should be changed. That being said, whether the 'judgment' was correct or not, was it a proper application of 10.3.C ? (I am being told by some that it was not.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Guess you know my answer already, but the only wiggle room I can see for those who say it was not a proper application is that the runners believing they had to return to previous bases due to R1 being safe at 3B was not putting them in "jeopardy" strictly speaking.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
There's no way these two runners return AFTER their player was put out, had that out been announced when it happened. Seems like a textbook case for this rule.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/softball/70193-application-asa-10-3-c-detailed-play.html
|
||||
Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
Any The "Elastic Rule" ? - Page 2 | This thread | Refback | Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:53pm |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Application of the lookback rule | BratzCoach | Softball | 29 | Mon Jul 18, 2011 03:34pm |
Looking for a detailed pre-game | MichiganOfficial | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 11, 2006 09:56am |
Proper application of OBS? | U of M Sam | Softball | 1 | Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm |
Application of 9.01(c) | akalsey | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm |