View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 11:56am
okla21fan okla21fan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Desoto, TX
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
I too question the call. I don't find it valid to say that because in 3 or 4 turns she deviated from her original base path. Each time R1 turns to reverse direction, she establishes a new base path. Unless there was a defender with the ball within 3 feet of R1 and trying to make a tag, there is no violation here.
Maybe I wasn't clear. There was no 'deviation' in terms of a violation of the basepath in the 3 to 4 turns (change of direction) of R1 and throws by the defense (she was never avoiding a tag). It was only on the final few steps when a defensive player was chasing her down and dove at R1, when R1 turned her head over her left shoulder that caused what the PU felt was a violation. (the OP was chronological, so at the time I used the word 'never', at that point there was no avoiding a tag)

also, as few as the offensive coach and his request to 're-place' R2 and B3, I was explaining to him the ruling on the violation and before I could get to where R2 and B3 should be placed, he interrupted and made the request.

Last edited by okla21fan; Thu May 19, 2011 at 11:58am.
Reply With Quote