The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Desoto, TX
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
If the veering started before the D tried to tag and then continued, I have base path established and no violation.
you are getting caught up in the mud.

My partner had it, and had the angle needed to make such a judgement. That is good enough for me, his judgment is/was not in question. The mistake was simply not calling the violation he saw because he thought I was going to call it. (again, my angle and POV was from inside the diamond. The 'play' and failed tag was between the coaches box, and dugout. ) While I could not tell from the veering that it was avoiding, my partner did. His added input and POV was enough.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Quote:
Originally Posted by okla21fan View Post
you are getting caught up in the mud.
Someone called me a mudder, the udder day.
I wonder now if that is what they meant.
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by okla21fan View Post
you are getting caught up in the mud.
.
Yeah, but we all agree on the dry dirt, so we have to talk about something.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by okla21fan View Post
you are getting caught up in the mud.

My partner had it, and had the angle needed to make such a judgement. That is good enough for me, his judgment is/was not in question. The mistake was simply not calling the violation he saw because he thought I was going to call it. (again, my angle and POV was from inside the diamond. The 'play' and failed tag was between the coaches box, and dugout. ) While I could not tell from the veering that it was avoiding, my partner did. His added input and POV was enough.
I understood the "basepath violation" part of your description from the beginning......
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
'splain me, Lucy.
__________________
Tony

Last edited by tcannizzo; Thu May 19, 2011 at 05:23pm. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 06:57pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
I guess I'll ask the question. Why were you involved in the run down when you had multiple runners behind it? I know this was 14 U but there could have been a play during or after the run down that would have had you very much out of position to make the call. This sounds like it was the plate umpires call all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 19, 2011, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
I guess I'll ask the question. Why were you involved in the run down when you had multiple runners behind it? I know this was 14 U but there could have been a play during or after the run down that would have had you very much out of position to make the call. This sounds like it was the plate umpires call all the way.
What? 14U throwing the ball around? Say it ain't so!!

But that is a damn good question. I just assued it was a 3U system, guess I shouldn't had.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Desoto, TX
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
Why were you involved in the run down when you had multiple runners behind it?
Because there here were multiple return throws from the home plate area to the 3rd base area The 1st return throw brought me into the play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by okla21fan View Post
Because there here were multiple return throws from the home plate area to the 3rd base area The 1st return throw brought me into the play.
Sorry, but Ed's correct. In a two umpire system with multiple active runners, you can't "box" a rundown.

I do agree with your application of 10.3.C, and your placement of runners after the reversal of the call.

At the risk of stating the obvious, the PU has the lead runner on the base hit. When she rounded third, she is the PUs runner, the BU then has the trailing runner. The PU should have covered the rundown by himself, while the BU covered the trailing runners, while being available to offer another set of eyes if needed. If you are both on the rundown, you have no idea what happened while R2 and R3 were advancing to second and third base during the rundown.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 11:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Desoto, TX
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Sorry, but Ed's correct. In a two umpire system with multiple active runners, you can't "box" a rundown.

I do agree with your application of 10.3.C, and your placement of runners after the reversal of the call.

At the risk of stating the obvious, the PU has the lead runner on the base hit. When she rounded third, she is the PUs runner, the BU then has the trailing runner. The PU should have covered the rundown by himself, while the BU covered the trailing runners, while being available to offer another set of eyes if needed. If you are both on the rundown, you have no idea what happened while R2 and R3 were advancing to second and third base during the rundown.
While I understand what you are saying:
We are taught this mechanic from the umpire manual

"There are four times when the base umpire will make the call at third base.
1) On the B/R on a triple with no runners on base
2) On the last runner into third base
3) On a lone runner on fly ball advancement
4) On any return throw from the plate area or cut of by a player."

As soon as there was a 'return' throw, (and I button hooked from the C slot), I was drawn into to the call at third.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/softball/70193-application-asa-10-3-c-detailed-play.html
Posted By For Type Date
Any The "Elastic Rule" ? - Page 2 This thread Refback Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:53pm

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Application of the lookback rule BratzCoach Softball 29 Mon Jul 18, 2011 03:34pm
Looking for a detailed pre-game MichiganOfficial Basketball 2 Sat Feb 11, 2006 09:56am
Proper application of OBS? U of M Sam Softball 1 Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm
Application of 9.01(c) akalsey Baseball 20 Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1