The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
If I'm picturing this correctly, I don't believe this is a score

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
OK, been thinking about what I said earlier about ignoring the touch of third because the runner was not actually running the bases. And I agree it's problematical.

However, take this a half-step further.

Instead of third - for some reason R1 heads toward home, perhaps to pick up a discarded bat or something. She inadvertently touches home plate, then proceeds into the dugout, with the defensive team leaving the field as well.

If you consider touching 3rd in the OP as a baserunning touch, where runner needs to return to 2nd before 1st... then in this sitch, her touch of home was a SCORE. The defense leaving the field would mean they cannot appeal the 2 missed bases.
Is R1 now the runner at 1st? Are you saying she didn't advance to 2nd or 3rd but went to home to pick up a bat and inadvertently stepped on home? If so how can this be a score? In order to be a score she has to touch 1st, 2nd, 3rd and home based on rule 5.5.A.1. Are you suggesting we have to assume she touched 2nd and 3rd and force the defense to appeal she missed either of those bags? Just trying to understand how you reasoned this one a score.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Is R1 now the runner at 1st? Are you saying she didn't advance to 2nd or 3rd but went to home to pick up a bat and inadvertently stepped on home? If so how can this be a score? In order to be a score she has to touch 1st, 2nd, 3rd and home based on rule 5.5.A.1. Are you suggesting we have to assume she touched 2nd and 3rd and force the defense to appeal she missed either of those bags? Just trying to understand how you reasoned this one a score.
Yes, that's what we're saying. It appears that once she touches a subsequent base she must be determined to have missed the intervening bases and reached the succeeding base.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2011, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Is R1 now the runner at 1st? Are you saying she didn't advance to 2nd or 3rd but went to home to pick up a bat and inadvertently stepped on home? If so how can this be a score? In order to be a score she has to touch 1st, 2nd, 3rd and home based on rule 5.5.A.1. Are you suggesting we have to assume she touched 2nd and 3rd and force the defense to appeal she missed either of those bags? Just trying to understand how you reasoned this one a score.
Actually, I'm reasoning the opposite and using this sitch to make my point. Read up higher. The runner (from first) ran across the diamond on the way to the dugout... during what was actually a live ball. She went near or touched 3rd (depending on which what-if you're reading) - my point was that I'm not positive it matters... and that if it DOES matter that she touched third and you're now going to insist she retouch 2nd before heading to first - then in the situation I posted above, you're going to have to score the run instead of putting the girl back on first base... and wait for an appeal for missing 2nd and 3rd that may not come if the coach can't keep himself in the game.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 outs - team leaves playing area NY Softball Softball 12 Thu May 15, 2008 10:23pm
Two outs, everyone leaves field Joe3401 Baseball 10 Tue May 15, 2007 08:59am
Runner is out when he leaves the field of play -- or not? Alaska Ump Softball 6 Sat Aug 26, 2006 01:00pm
Defense runs off the field softball_junky Softball 9 Thu Jun 23, 2005 01:53pm
Player leaves court-how tight do you call it? mplagrow Basketball 8 Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1