The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 17, 2011, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rybo View Post
I solo umpired a 14U JO game. Situation runners on first and second, 1 out...runner on second tries to steal 3rd gets thrown out defensive runs off the field they think it is 3 outs. Runner on first waits with first base coach and then they start to run off the infield, runner gets two steps beyond 3rd base foul line...not out of play. Third base coach asks me "umpire two outs right?" I say, for both sides to hear, "YES and ball is in play" (ball laying on the ground in pitchers circle). Runner starts back to first base and makes it back safely. Defensive team trys to come back on the field and tag out the runner. Defensive team claims the runner is out for running out of the base line.
No such rule

Quote:
I deny it and say your team left the field there was no play on her and she was not out. In my rules review I found ASA section 8 RUNNER IS NOT OUT. B "When a runner does not run in a direct line to a base, provided the fielder in the direct line does not have the ball in their possession". Any thoughts in confirmation to what I called or otherwise will be appreciated.
See above. A runner is only out for leaving the basepath by more than 3 feet when a tag is being attempted.

Quote:
Also by rule 8 B the runner could have run from the third base foul line direct to second base?
She could have run out and high-fived the CF and then proceeded to 2B if she wanted.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2011, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I don't think I'd rule the runner had missed bases regardless of her path, even if directly over third ... possibly even if she TOUCHED third. It seems clear she was not running the bases.

I've seen this happen on occasion where the runner (or coach) realizes what's happening and the runner walks slowly to 2nd, 3rd so as to not draw attention. I don't believe I've ever seen her get all the way home before the defense noticed though.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2011, 08:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
My only comment here is that 2B may have been closer than 1B and just as valid a destination. DMR.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2011, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC View Post
My only comment here is that 2B may have been closer than 1B and just as valid a destination. DMR.
Not entirely sure what you mean by this.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2011, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Not entirely sure what you mean by this.
He means that when the runner realized there were only 2 outs and needed to return to her base, she could have returned to 2B instead of 1B, and that was probably even closer to where she was. Stolen base + less chance to be tagged...
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2011, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I don't think I'd rule the runner had missed bases regardless of her path, even if directly over third ... possibly even if she TOUCHED third. It seems clear she was not running the bases.

I've seen this happen on occasion where the runner (or coach) realizes what's happening and the runner walks slowly to 2nd, 3rd so as to not draw attention. I don't believe I've ever seen her get all the way home before the defense noticed though.
If a runner ran from 1st to 3rd touched 3rd and then ran straight back to first, you'd deny the appeal at 2nd?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 18, 2011, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
If a runner ran from 1st to 3rd touched 3rd and then ran straight back to first, you'd deny the appeal at 2nd?
Well, there was a reason for the "possibly"... My initial thought is that she wasn't really running the bases at all, and just happened to touch 3rd. However, I'm now waffling in my head over whether I would ignore that or not.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 outs - team leaves playing area NY Softball Softball 12 Thu May 15, 2008 10:23pm
Two outs, everyone leaves field Joe3401 Baseball 10 Tue May 15, 2007 08:59am
Runner is out when he leaves the field of play -- or not? Alaska Ump Softball 6 Sat Aug 26, 2006 01:00pm
Defense runs off the field softball_junky Softball 9 Thu Jun 23, 2005 01:53pm
Player leaves court-how tight do you call it? mplagrow Basketball 8 Fri Dec 26, 2003 12:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1