The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 15
remember fellow umps last base touched at the time of interference so runner on 3rd already touched home when inter ference occurs
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyump View Post
remember fellow umps last base touched at the time of interference so runner on 3rd already touched home when inter ference occurs

Answer my previous question about the ball being caught. Do you care then that the runner has already crossed home? Or, will you honor the appeal?
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyump View Post
remember fellow umps last base touched at the time of interference so runner on 3rd already touched home when inter ference occurs
Oh...also, for the play you stated in the OP, the information you provide here is totally irrelevant.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
How is it irrelevant?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Oh...also, for the play you stated in the OP, the information you provide here is totally irrelevant.
It is most certainly relevant as on any interference call, you put runners back to the last base touched.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
In my old 2008 ASA rule book:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8.2
BATTER RUNNER IS OUT...K. When the immediate previous runner who is not out intentionally interferes, in the umpire’s judgment, with a fielder who is attempting to catch a thrown ball or throw a ball in an attempt to complete the play on the batter-runner.
EFFECT: The runner shall also be called out.
and

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5.5.B
No run shall be scored if the third out of the inning is the result of:
1. A batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base or any other
runner forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner. On an
appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not
when the infraction occurred.
R2 would have been the "immediate" previous runner, no? No run scores.

EDIT: Oops, 8.2.K is a "thrown" ball. Hmmm...
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 10:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
The OP didn't include the number of outs

Also, the interference was on batted ball, not a thrown ball. So 8.2.K doesn't apply. The exception to 8.7J-L does apply. If the interference prevents the fielder from catching a routine fly ball, fair or foul, with ordinary effort, the batter is also out.

So if there were two outs, then the run would not score.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
From the offense's perspective, I think this only works with less than 2 outs.

The ball becomes dead at the time of interference.

When there is interference, return any runners to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

For this to work for the offense, timing is important. R2 must not interfere until R1 has touched or crossed home.

By rule, I think you score the run.

At a NUS a couple of years ago, I presented a similar scenario to our instructors. KR ruled that the run would score. I'm not sure, but this may have also been included in one of the ASA rules and clarifications articles.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
From the offense's perspective, I think this only works with less than 2 outs.

The ball becomes dead at the time of interference.

When there is interference, return any runners to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

For this to work for the offense, timing is important. R2 must not interfere until R1 has touched or crossed home.

By rule, I think you score the run.

At a NUS a couple of years ago, I presented a similar scenario to our instructors. KR ruled that the run would score. I'm not sure, but this may have also been included in one of the ASA rules and clarifications articles.
Less than 1 out. The runner is out, and by the rule cited rwest, the batter-runner would also be out.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2011, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Less than 1 out. The runner is out, and by the rule cited rwest, the batter-runner would also be out.
So let's consider if R2 is simply hit by a line drive while off the base. In this case, R1 would likely not have passed home plate, unless he was Flash.

I this case, R2 is out for INT, R1 is returned to 3B, and credit the batter with a base hit and award 1B.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NBA: Greatest Dunk?? Juulie Downs Basketball 5 Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:40pm
Worlds greatest IP? wadeintothem Softball 18 Tue Sep 01, 2009 08:55am
10 Greatest College Players GregBar Football 19 Tue Jan 22, 2008 08:05pm
I'd heard that Ruth used to play drunk, but... WhatWuzThatBlue Baseball 3 Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:24pm
Greatest player - really Mark Padgett Basketball 78 Fri Apr 25, 2003 03:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1