![]() |
|
|
|||
I agree
However, the OP never said anything about the number of outs. Did it?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
No, I think a number of us (myself included) assumed there were 2 outs.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
There was no catch, so the runner leaving early or late is moot.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
True!
I sit corrected!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
As a creative former player/coach, I'm now even considering if the run would score had there been two outs. Because of the interference by R2, I'm thinking BR is still awarded 1B and credited with a hit.
I recall a play I had last season w/ R1 on third, R2 on second and 2 outs. Batter hits a routine grounder to F6 who fields it cleanly. Had he simply thrown to 1B, the BR would have been retired easily [assuming no muff by F3]. But R2 ran very close to F6, but not past him. For some reason, F6 then decided to take the "easy out" right in front of him by tagging R2. But R2 had baited him and headed back to second base. There was a resulting rundown and R2 was eventually tagged out, but long after R1 had crossed home. So score that run. BR did reach 1B because of the rundown. Can the same logic be applied to our OP with 2 outs? If this is such a great play, why don't we ever see it? How has ASA covered their collective bases on this one?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Cool... I have TWO outs, then ... and not 1. The interference prevented an easy double play (catch, throw to third).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
You're assuming that the ball would have been caught. You can't assume that. The only other out you can get is the BR.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
What rules basis do you have for saying you can't assume that? The more "normal" 2-out interference is with a runner committing intentional interference to break up a double play - you "assume" that the 2nd out would have been made in that case... why is this play any different? The rules simply say the Umpire is to rule a 2nd out as well if in his judgement the interference prevented a double play. This sitch is no different (and is also supported by the common sense idea that the offense should not benefit from interference).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Ok, but you still can't get the runner from 3rd out
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Can someone reference what rule(s) some of you are talking about?
A few posts back, I mentioned a situation I posed at NUS on which KR ruled. Bases loaded, 1 out. Batter hits a [sky-high, for those that need this] popup near first base. Initial call is IF, batter is out, if fair. The runner from third breaks for home. She touches home before INT occurs. B/R, now potentially retired, if fair, intentionally interferes w/ F3 causing her to not catch the ball, which was in fair territory. The ruling was INT by a retired B/R. B/R is already out so the runner closest to home is also out. That runner is the one on second base. Score the run. Inning, potentially game, now over. I think the difference is that in the above case, we have INT by a retired B/R. Given the same situation and she bunted a [sky-high, for those that need this] popup, which cannot be an IF, and all other things happened the same, do we have 1 out [on the B/R who INT w/ F3], or 2 outs based on rule reference X.X.x?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NBA: Greatest Dunk?? | Juulie Downs | Basketball | 5 | Sat Nov 14, 2009 12:40pm |
Worlds greatest IP? | wadeintothem | Softball | 18 | Tue Sep 01, 2009 08:55am |
10 Greatest College Players | GregBar | Football | 19 | Tue Jan 22, 2008 08:05pm |
I'd heard that Ruth used to play drunk, but... | WhatWuzThatBlue | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:24pm |
Greatest player - really | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 78 | Fri Apr 25, 2003 03:14pm |