The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 08:47am
Official Forum Member

Umpire pants

I'm having difficulty finding a good fitting pair of umpire pants. The Fechheimer flat front pants are too high waisted for me and tight across the groin area. This is the only brand carried by officialgear.com.

(1) Is there another brand and source that you can recommend?

(2) I've come across Smitty umpire pants which are pleated. Thoughts on these?

(3) Is there a brand of combo pants that look good when worn as base umpire pants as well as plate umpire pants?

Thanks!
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 09:15am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to umpirebob71
I've been wearing the Smitty combo pants for about 2 years, and I like them just fine. I absolutely do not like the Fecheimer pants. They fit terribly.
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 09:37am
Official Forum Member

If you work an ASA National level tournament, the Fechheimer pants are required. I don't like the way they fit or look either, but that is the requirement.

In my part of the world, pleats are discouraged....pleats are for baseball umpires, not softball umpires.

As they say on the basketball board...YMMV

(your mileage may vary)
Old Fri Mar 25, 2011, 10:09am
Official Forum Member

There are several styles of Fechheimer pants, not just the ones manufactured for ASA. Personally, I prefer the non-ASA Fechs to just about any other umpire pant out there. (Dalco, Keen, Smitty...etc.) And I have tried most of them. Fechs tend to last longer and keep their color longer. You can find the Fechs in pleated front, flat front with normal pockets, combos, both pleated and flat front, and of course the ASA style with the western cut pockets.

One purveyor of the non-ASA style pants is Lester's Upstate Sports.