|
|||
Illegal Pitch / Runner leaves early
(I meant to post this as a new thread - now I am..
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- In another thread, this is posted: From March 2008 Plays and Clarifications on the ASA website. PLAY: R1 on 1B and no count on B2. F1 commits an illegal pitch, by bringing the hands together a second time, which is called by the plate umpire, but continues the pitch. Just before releasing the ball R1 leaves the base before the release of the pitch. In (a) B1 does not swing at the pitch. In (b) B1 swings at the pitch and gets a base hit. In (c) R1 is on 1B and R2 is on 3B at the start of the play. RULING: The illegal pitch happened when the pitcher brought their hands together, paused, the hands separated to begin the pitch, then the hands came back together prior to the release of the pitch. In (a) and (b) the ball became dead when R1 left 1B before the pitch was released. The fact that the batter did not swing in (a) or got a hit in (b) is irrelevant because the ball became dead when R1 left 1B early. Enforce both the leaving early and illegal pitch infractions, The Ball is dead and R1 is out and a ball is awarded to B2. In (c) The plate umpire should call illegal pitch when it occurs and then “dead ball” when R1 leaves 1B too soon. R1 is out, R2 is awarded home and B2 is awarded a ball in the count. Rule 8, Section 7-S, Effect, Rule 6, Section 3-B, Effect-A Illegal Pitch ************************************************** ******** I think I first became aware of this ruling 2 years ago and I don't quite understand the part about ruling the runner out for leaving early. My thinking has been that there are many illegal pitches which can actually cause (if that is the correct word) the runner to leave early. Don't runners time their leaving a base to the pitcher? Isn't it reasonable to think that it is this illegal infraction could be the cqause of the runner leaving early? Just wondering if I'm way off base on this one? I know the case ruling, just seems funny to me. |
|
|||
(copied from different thread)
#31 (permalink) Today, 07:48am HugoTafurst Registered User Join Date: Mar 2009 Location: East Central, FL Posts: 360 Quote: Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB Only IP's that would cause an issue with the runners timing would be the leap and crow hop as the pitch would not be released as quick as would be from the push-off than what would of happened in a legal pitch. I meant to start a new thread with that post as it is completely different than this thread - I made the correction and deleted my post here, but to answer your comment - Wouldn't you say a double touch affects a runner's timing? Wouldn't you say that most of the infractions in Article 4 could affect the runner's timing? (Lets continue this in the other thread - I'm sensitive to hijacking threads 9unless it's to talk about alcohol) |
|
|||
(Moved from other thread)
Quote:
We always talk about thinking of the intent of rules - sometimes a good thing, sometimes not. This is a case where I always thought that the reason for mayny IP rules was to provide "continuity" (if you will) to the batter or the runner so as to balance advantage/disadvantage things. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Agreed. Furthermore, it is still the runner's responsibility to know when the pitch has been released before they may lose contact with the base. The ruling provided appropriately enforces the pitcher's infraction as well as the runner's.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
NCASA / IRISH...
Obviously the rules makers think as you do. Just one of those things that kind of crept into my brain from time to time since reading the proper enforcement. Thanks |
|
|||
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Few years back there was a local pitcher that used a pitching motion specifically to catch the runners leaving early. With runners on base she would occasionally make a complete reverse rotation with her pitching arm before starting the forward rotation.
|
|
|||
From the NFHS 2011 Intrepretations page:
SITUATION 7: B2 is at bat with R1 on first base. F1 begins her wind up and then holds onto the ball instead of releasing it toward B2. R1 leaves first base anticipating that F1 will release the pitch. RULING: A pitching and base-running infraction have occurred at virtually the same time and both are penalized. R1 is out for leaving the base before release of the pitch; an illegal pitch is called on F1 for failing to deliver the pitch, which results in a ball being awarded to B2. However, if in the umpire’s judgment, F1’s act was deliberate to bait and deceive R1 into leaving the base early, the umpire shall call “time” and “no pitch.” The umpire shall eject F1 and/or the head coach from the game. If the umpire believes the coach is directly responsible for the actions of F1, the umpire may eject only the coach. The defensive team is attempting to benefit by circumventing the rules. R1 is obliged to stay in contact with the base until the ball is released by the pitcher; however, the tactic being utilized by the defense is deceptive and not in accordance with the spirit of fair play. (3-6-13b, c; 6-2-1; 8-6-21) So there is some intrep for intent to cause the offense to leave early where the umpire could not call the runner out based on F1's actions. Link to info http://www.nfhs.org/content.aspx?id=4604 |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Well - Here's how I look at it.......
F1 steps on pitcher's plate with hands together U indicates illegal pitch and puts left arm out. Pitcher continues into wind up and begins the pitch. R1 leaves before release of the pitch U indicated "dead ball" as F1 finishes delivery to F2. U asks O coach if he would like rusult of the play (R1 out for leaving early, No pitch) Or take the penalty for IP (ball on batter, R1 to second) Simple......... Play ball |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Hugo, from reading the rule it looks like you may be able to do so, if you believe the coach is directly responsible. |
|
|||
Quote:
In slowpitch, the runner may lose contact with their base once the pitched ball touches the ground, reaches home plate, or is batted.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
I can easily envision a situation where there was no intent to deceive or bait. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Illegal pitch with no runner advancing | SC Ump | Softball | 2 | Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:25am |
Runner leaves early | timharris | Baseball | 4 | Tue Jul 10, 2007 12:39am |
Runner is out when he leaves the field of play -- or not? | Alaska Ump | Softball | 6 | Sat Aug 26, 2006 01:00pm |
Runner leaves before ball caught? | fan | Softball | 2 | Tue May 16, 2006 11:53am |
watching the runner to see if she leaves early | Illinois blue | Softball | 21 | Thu Mar 02, 2006 02:56pm |