The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 24, 2011, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 62
Is the UIC wrong or am I on another planet?

Last night we had a USSSA meeting and the UIC tried to tell us that he was told at the national meeting that a batter-runner can be tagged out by a fielder by touching the runner before she reaches first base. No problem so far. Then he proceeded to tell us that the fielder can tag her with the glove without the ball being in the glove as long as she has possession of the ball in her other hand. Then he proceeded to tell us she could tag the runner with any part of her body as long as she held the ball in either her glove or her hand. I'm speechless. Anyone else have this explained to them like this? I can't believe this is the case. His reasoning was that it was a force play just like tagging the base with any part of the body as long as the have possession of the ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrong Way! Wrong Goal? Rick Durkee Basketball 6 Mon Nov 05, 2007 05:57pm
When I'm Wrong, I'm wrong: Interference is better without intent wadeintothem Softball 48 Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:58am
Right or wrong? NewRef2007 Basketball 10 Tue Mar 06, 2007 01:42am
Tell me if I'm wrong JRSooner Baseball 19 Fri May 28, 2004 09:21am
What was I doing wrong? Mark Padgett Basketball 6 Sun Feb 01, 2004 08:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1