The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member

Right or wrong?

O.K., I am fairly new to officiating, but I have a question.

I watched a boys high school play off game the other day and it was 3 man.

There were several times when one of the 3 officials seemed to "take over" the game.

On one play, players were scrambling for the ball 4 or 5 players after the ball together in a bunch. Two of the officials called Jumpball, He comes running in from the trail position and calls a foul on the play.

On another play, he again is the trail official easily 25 or more feet away from the play in the lane. Lead and center neither have a call, he comes in from nearly half court and yelling he has the foul, he has the foul. No one anywhere near the play had anything.

Both of these plays were against the same team. He seemed to be drawing attention to himself. He was the elder of the 3 man group, but not the R. There was a third play where he called an intentional foul, maybe it was or maybe it wasn't, contact was minimal. The basket was good, as were the two free throws and the team inbounded the ball and made another 2 points...a six point turn around on 1 play.

My question here as a newbie, doen't it seem like he is drawing attention to himself as an official? Shouldn't we be trying to avoid draw the attention. On two of these plays, he was calling out of his area. The crowd booed him several times. Including when he left the floor at half time and when he arrived back to start the 3rd quarter.
Old Sun Mar 04, 2007, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to fonzzy07