The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I disagree that the situations (1 and 4) are the same, since your ability to clearly see the ball and the player's control (or not) of it differ significantly ).

In #1, if I can clearly determine control before the runner reaches the base, fine, OUT. However, if there is a question in my mind, SAFE.

With #4, unless I see leather between the ball and the ground (which I would not be able to do if the pocket or "palm" of the glove is down), I would rule SAFE unless the glove is lifted before the runner reaches the base.

But, that's just me.
And I think this is the general convention, but this is probably part of the misconception.
I agree with Bretman's interpretation on all situations. The lifting of the glove/hand off of the ground before a runner reaches the base should not be a consideration. The only consideration is control. If the fielder can show me that he/she had control (even if the ball is on the ground in a bare hand or hidden by a glove turned upside-down when the runner arrives) by lifting their hand or glove off the ground without readjusting for better grip, then I have an out regardless of when the runner passed the base.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUchem View Post
And I think this is the general convention, but this is probably part of the misconception.
I agree with Bretman's interpretation on all situations. The lifting of the glove/hand off of the ground before a runner reaches the base should not be a consideration. The only consideration is control. If the fielder can show me that he/she had control (even if the ball is on the ground in a bare hand or hidden by a glove turned upside-down when the runner arrives) by lifting their hand or glove off the ground without readjusting for better grip, then I have an out regardless of when the runner passed the base.
So, how do you determine there was no gripping as the glove is lifted? I don't know about everyone else, but being sure of an out seems like a requirement to me.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 01:12pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
So, how do you determine there was no gripping as the glove is lifted? I don't know about everyone else, but being sure of an out seems like a requirement to me.
Exactly. And your question of whether or not there was control is answered by the fielder lifting their hand/glove and showing you.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Exactly. And your question of whether or not there was control is answered by the fielder lifting their hand/glove and showing you.
I agree. They must show control by lifting the glove. But I am contending that they need not do that very thing BEFORE the runner gets there. They must have had control before the runner arrived, but they can demonstrate that even after the runner has passed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
So, how do you determine there was no gripping as the glove is lifted? I don't know about everyone else, but being sure of an out seems like a requirement to me.
If they can squeeze that ball and lift it straight up(and therefore demonstrate control) without readjusting the glove position or turn the glove upside down or something, then they have shown control.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 02:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
I don't agree. Any fielder worth his/her glove can pick up a ball with the glove without a lot of fiddling around. Covering the ball does not indicate control. Call it what you want; I call it a trap.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 02:51pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I don't agree. Any fielder worth his/her glove can pick up a ball with the glove without a lot of fiddling around. Covering the ball does not indicate control. Call it what you want; I call it a trap.
Without evidence to support there was no control while the glove/hand was on the ground, you'd be incorrect and would be in direct opposition to NFHS Casebook Case 2.9.5 Situation C which states:

Quote:
2.9.5 SITUATION C: F3 secures a thrown ball while it is in contact with the
ground and her hand is on top of the ball. F3 turns her hand over so the ball is
facing upward (a) before; or (b) after the batter-runner touches first base. RULING:
In both (a) and (b) the batter-runner is out. F3 demonstrated control of the
thrown ball by turning it upward. COMMENT: Umpires must determine if the fielder
had control of the ball before the runner touched the base. This is a similar situation to the umpire asking to "see the ball" after a tag has been made. (2-9-5f)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 03:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Without evidence to support there was no control while the glove/hand was on the ground, you'd be incorrect and would be in direct opposition to NFHS Casebook Case 2.9.5 Situation C which states:
No, I wouldn't. You say glove/hand. NFHS Case Play says "hand." A glove is not a hand. Unless the player has hands like Shaq, you can see the ball, and see the grip and determine control. You can do none of those with a glove covering the ball.

And, you have the test backwards. I don't have to see evidence of lack of control. The player has to show evidence she has control.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
I'm with Dakota pretty much across the board on this one. You have to KNOW the fielder has possession. Sitch 1 and 4 are NOT the same. In 1, you see the ball and can see if any further regripping happens. In 4, you can't see the ball. You can't GUESS an out. And as he stated, it's relatively easy to turn a trap into control without any visible movement.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 19, 2010, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUchem View Post
I agree. They must show control by lifting the glove. But I am contending that they need not do that very thing BEFORE the runner gets there. They must have had control before the runner arrived, but they can demonstrate that even after the runner has passed.


If they can squeeze that ball and lift it straight up(and therefore demonstrate control) without readjusting the glove position or turn the glove upside down or something, then they have shown control.
Wrong - as Tom said - they can easily gain control after the runner passed the bag and then pick it up for your out. Me - I've got the runner safe unless that glove comes up with the ball before the runner gets there.
__________________
Steve M
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
legal ball AKOFL Basketball 5 Tue Sep 22, 2009 12:00am
Is this legal (falling out of bounds w/ ball) Larks Basketball 16 Sat Nov 13, 2004 12:16pm
Legal ball? kristal_15 Basketball 7 Sat Jun 12, 2004 01:43pm
Held ball, traveling, or a legal play? erikengquist Basketball 8 Fri Feb 13, 2004 07:59pm
Legal size ball PP Basketball 4 Tue Apr 08, 2003 04:13am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1