The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Committed interference? Huh? No. And the ball's not dead (if this happens with no outs, runners are free to run and/or tag up)

Result is correct though - 3 outs, no runs score.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike

Last edited by MD Longhorn; Fri Jul 02, 2010 at 12:43pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 12:48pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
The ball IS dead though when the ball goes over the fence. Doesn't matter, I've got a DMB and the third out.

Why is this a SP only situation?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Correct Welpe - I should have been more specific. I was just disagreeing with "The ball became dead when the Batter Runner committed interference by abandoning his attempt to reach first base. "
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 02:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
The ball IS dead though when the ball goes over the fence. Doesn't matter, I've got a DMB and the third out.

Why is this a SP only situation?
Because in ASA SP, they don't have to run the bases on a 4 base award.

Which brings me to my next question... Since the award is made on the runners' locations at the time of the pitch, do you think this changes anything?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
I bring particular focus to the exception listed in 8-2-D.

ASA 8-2-D: Batter-Runner is out.
Quote:
When the batter-runner fails to advance to first base and enters the team area after a batted fair ball, a base on balls in Fast Pitch or Slow Pitch with Stealing, a dropped third strike, or catcher obstruction.
EXCEPTION: (Slow Pitch) The ball is dead when runners are not required to run bases on a home run or four base award, or on a base on balls, or (Fast Pitch) on a hit batter. The batter-runner is not out. Other than on a home run or a four base award, runners cannot advance unless forced.
So do you still call the out?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 03:08pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Because in ASA SP, they don't have to run the bases on a 4 base award.
O I C...

Well I'm not sure then. Sorry for mucking up your thread.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 03:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
O I C...

Well I'm not sure then. Sorry for mucking up your thread.
If my thread helps anyone to learn something, then it's not mucked up in the least.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Committed interference? Huh? No. And the ball's not dead (if this happens with no outs, runners are free to run and/or tag up)

Result is correct though - 3 outs, no runs score.
I don't have my 2010 rulebook with me but I found a 2006 online and I'm pretty sure that it still reads this way. 8-2-D (the effect is listed after H). The BR going into the dugout on a live ball is interference and the ball is dead.
________
Recall Depakote

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:25pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 01:35pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
You ready to float away yet Mike? I'm preparing my rubber raft for my commute home today.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Practically floated into work today. I drive the smaller vehicle in the family, and it's LOW - worried about flooding on the entrance and exit ramps of the highways, there was so much water. NOT looking forward to the drive home.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I don't have my 2010 rulebook with me but I found a 2006 online and I'm pretty sure that it still reads this way. 8-2-D (the effect is listed after H). The BR going into the dugout on a live ball is interference and the ball is dead.
That effect is supposed to read E-H... this has been talked about before. E-H ALL reference different types of interference, and have the word interference in them.

D is not interference, and does not have the word interference in it.

If it was correct that the ball was dead on D - all sorts of bad scenarios could present themselves. Runner or runners off on the pitch on a pop up in the infield. Before the ball can be caught, BR sees the potential double play and sprints for the dugout. Ditto on a double-play grounder.

I see where you're coming from though, and I thought we'd heard this was going to be fixed in the 2010 book.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Abandoning the Base: FED Spence Baseball 3 Fri Jun 05, 2009 08:49am
Runner Abandoning the Base Path Fritz Baseball 26 Sun Jun 17, 2007 09:25pm
Failing to advance or Abandoning a base Dakota Softball 28 Fri Jun 25, 2004 09:19am
Base Award LDUB Baseball 6 Wed Apr 21, 2004 07:39am
Base award TERRY1 Softball 5 Thu Aug 22, 2002 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1