![]() |
|
|||
Multiple Obstructions
This came up a few years ago, and I posted it then - generating some lively discussion. It came up again while sitting under the Umpire Tree last week, so I thought I'd see if it generates any new thoughts this time around...
No one on base, B hits the ball between the outfielders. As she's rounding first, F3 is standing on the bag. BU rules and signals obstruction, mentally noting that this runner would have gotten to third base without the obstruction. B rounding 2nd, and the throw, heading from CF to a deep SS, is dropped by the SS. While rounding 2nd, she collides with an inattentive F4 watching the play. BU resignals the obstruction, and based on where the ball is and where the runner is, again decides that based on this OBS alone, she should get 3rd. Runner slides safely into third base. PU and BU discuss, and both had the same awards - but both feel that had NEITHER obstruction occured, AND the misplay at F6 happened as it did, this runner likely would have scored. What do you do?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Multiple forums??? | DownTownTonyBrown | General / Off-Topic | 10 | Sat Aug 28, 2004 08:24pm |
Multiple Foul? | Nu1 | Basketball | 7 | Mon Mar 08, 2004 11:44am |
Multiple T's | BoomerSooner | Basketball | 6 | Fri Feb 27, 2004 01:53am |
Multiple Foul | golfdesigner | Basketball | 9 | Thu Feb 19, 2004 04:46pm |
Multiple fouls | bseybs32 | Basketball | 3 | Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:27am |