![]() |
|
|
|||
illegal pitch (confession: good for the soul?)
I'm not happy with what I did last night. I need to confess.
Our local crew was chosen to work one of the MD state semis last night. I was plate. My zone/focus was great and my partners were on top of all calls in the infield and outfield. We had no problems and I think we showed very well. But. First pitch of the evening. Pitcher walks on to plate and immediately puts hands together. Stands looking at catcher for 2-4 seconds then delivers the pitch. I look, think and do not signal illegal. Second pitch, same as the first. I again look, think and do not signal illegal. This goes against everything I've said I wanted to do differently this year. No more "she didn't gain an advantage" or "no one is complaining". My motto this year has been if it's illegal call it and let the chips fall where they may. But not last night. I said to myself during those first few pitches that if she's gotten this far doing this and no one else has called it then I'm not going to be the first. For what it's worth (not much) she didn't gain an advantage and no one did complain. The other team hit her fairly hard and won 3-0. But the fact that I said to myself "not in this situation, this game's too big" bothers me. Many of the local vets that I admire and trust don't consider this particular infraction one that is worthy of enforcing in last nights situation. That doesn't make it any easier for me. I've been replaying the game over in my mind and I keep saying that if I had it to do over again I would have called the very first pitch illegal and lived with the consequences. But I can't go back in time. Any comments? |
|
|||
Maybe I'm missing something here but exactly what is illegal about this?
|
|
|||
She wasn't taking signs with the hands separated, but she was pausing as if taking signs... only the hands were together, right?
FWIW, the rule is there to prevent quick pitching (which she was not doing due to the longer than normal pause with the hands together). Her pause with the hands together was well within legal limits, so her wind up was not by itself illegal, either. In the final analysis, a pretty minor violation; don't beat yourself up so much.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
ip was covered in our asa clinic this past sunday. stressed heavily and offered reasons why umps do not call it. if pitcher from al's county and his association, it would depend on the umps. unfortunately, i can not see them calling it. i got to the playoffs and called a pitcher for leaping 3 or 4 times. they, the coaches, had no idea, what the pitcher was doing wrong. so i took that as it not having been called all year. never saw a playoff game since then. i am done with them. |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with you. The way the OP is written, I interpreted it to mean that F1 put her hands together immediately after making contact with the pitcher's plate. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
As I read the replys, I see many of you don't consider what I derscribed as an illegal pitch. So... who does consider this illegal? Once again pitcher walks to plate with hands seperated but as both feet make contact she has put her hands together. Now comes pause. Now comes pitch. Illegal or not according to Fed? Other organizations?
|
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
You are OOO! when she gets the ball she has so many seconds to pitch.
She must come to the rubber with hands separated. She must take or simulate taking a signal She must bring the hands together she must...... .... .... By your definition and by rule she has complied with all specifications. Taking or simulating can be an eye blink! Just because she does not pause as long as you think she should, does not make it wrong. You are looking for things that do not exist.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball ASA/USSSA Dayton, Ohio I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started. ![]() |
|
|||
Yup.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
The penalty for not complying with Rule 6-1-1-b is an illegal pitch, the penalty for quick pitching simply no pitch. See 6-2-4-b ART. 4 . . . No pitch shall be declared when: b. the pitcher attempts a quick return of the ball before the batter has taken position or is off balance as a result of a previous pitch. You may go the entire game without the pitcher taking advantage of not complying with 6-1-1-b or it might cause you more grief later. That said - I enforce this pretty simply. Was there a discernible pause before bringing the hands together? In other words immediately isn't a pause. |
|
|||
You're correct; I used the term too loosely.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 4 | Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm |
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? | Deion | Softball | 15 | Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm |
illegal ball... illegal pitch? | [email protected] | Baseball | 5 | Thu Apr 17, 2003 06:57pm |
The some soul | FirstClassy | Hockey | 1 | Tue Mar 11, 2003 09:05pm |
Confession and Questions | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 10 | Tue Jan 15, 2002 02:03pm |