The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
IT appears that the only differenced between ASA and NFHS is that the B3 is skipped for ASA and would bat again for NFHS.
No, another difference is that in NFHS, B3's initial strikeout would be negated, and there would only be one out on B2 being skipped. In ASA, B2 would be out for being skipped, and B3's strikeout would stand for a total of two outs.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob View Post
No, another difference is that in NFHS, B3's initial strikeout would be negated, and there would only be one out on B2 being skipped. In ASA, B2 would be out for being skipped, and B3's strikeout would stand for a total of two outs.
As I read the NFHS Case Book, the play is that if B3 makes an out then that out stands. The book states that if B3 gets on base that B3 would be pulled off the base and put back into the box to bat again, if B3 makes an out then the out stands.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
As I read the NFHS Case Book, the play is that if B3 makes an out then that out stands. The book states that if B3 gets on base that B3 would be pulled off the base and put back into the box to bat again, if B3 makes an out then the out stands.
Try 7.1.2 (H)
In the case book play, proper batter (B1) was skipped. Improper batter (B2)
hits ground ball and is (a) safe at 1st or (b) out at first.

Result: B1 is declared out, B2's at bat is nullified.
In (a) B2 is removed from base.
In both cases, B2 comes up to bat with one out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
As I read the NFHS Case Book, the play is that if B3 makes an out then that out stands. The book states that if B3 gets on base that B3 would be pulled off the base and put back into the box to bat again, if B3 makes an out then the out stands.
No, that's not what it says. Both the rule book and the case book state that the at-bat by the improper batter is negated. The at-bat cannot be negated and also have the out stand.

ASA, by contrast, states that the advance of the runners is nullified, but not that the at-bat is negated.

The NFHS rule could be a bit more clear on this point, since the PENALTY says,
Quote:
When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the next pitch (legal or illegal), or prior to an intentional base on balls (S.P.), or before the infielders leave the diamond if a half-inning is ending. The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). The improper batter's time at bat is negated and she is returned to the dugout/bench area. All outs stand and runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. If a runner advances because of a stolen base, wild pitch, passed ball (F.P.) or an illegal pitch (F.P.) while the improper batter is at bat, such advance is legal.
But in the full context of the rule, and of the case play, an out recorded by the improper batter does NOT stand.

The case play makes this clear if you do the math. It ends by stating there is one out. If the proper batter is declared out, then the improper batter's out must have been negated, otherwise there would be 2 outs.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1