The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
IT appears that the only differenced between ASA and NFHS is that the B3 is skipped for ASA and would bat again for NFHS.
The out made by B3 stands in ASA and does not in NFHS.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
IT appears that the only differenced between ASA and NFHS is that the B3 is skipped for ASA and would bat again for NFHS.
No, another difference is that in NFHS, B3's initial strikeout would be negated, and there would only be one out on B2 being skipped. In ASA, B2 would be out for being skipped, and B3's strikeout would stand for a total of two outs.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post

"EXCEPTION: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter."


I read this literally, as applying only when the batter who batted out of order and made an out happens to be the next proper batter. I don't see anything in the clarifications or the rules indicating that any batter who bats out of order and makes an out (and BOO is appealed) is skipped over if he is to come to bat later in the inning.
I'm also reluctant to disagree with Mike, but I'm sticking with the comments made by greymule and others. I take the exception literally.

Speaking ASA,
If B1 is scheduled to bat, but B3 bats instead and makes an out: B2 is called out for BOO, B3's out stands, B3 is skipped based on the exception because she is now the proper batter at that instant, and B4 will bat.

If B1 is scheduled to bat, but B4 bats instead and makes an out: B2 is called out for BOO, B4's out stands, B3 is scheduled to be the proper batter, so she is brought to the plate. At the time of "play ball," the order is then B3, B4, B5...

After establishing the proper batter at the time of the BOO, the lineup thereafter cannot change because no rule supports such a change. The exception applies only to the instant that you are deciding who is the proper batter.

Good luck keeping the scorebook on that one.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob View Post
No, another difference is that in NFHS, B3's initial strikeout would be negated, and there would only be one out on B2 being skipped. In ASA, B2 would be out for being skipped, and B3's strikeout would stand for a total of two outs.
As I read the NFHS Case Book, the play is that if B3 makes an out then that out stands. The book states that if B3 gets on base that B3 would be pulled off the base and put back into the box to bat again, if B3 makes an out then the out stands.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
From the previously cited Rule Clarifications:

Play 1: With no outs, B9 is scheduled to bat but B1 bats. B1 hits a fly ball that is caught by F7. Before the next pitch, the defense appeals that B1 batted out of order.
Ruling: B9 is out as B9 is the correct batter and B1 remains out. B2 bats next with two outs. Per Rule 7, Section 2 D 2, after the incorrect batter has completed their turn at bat and before the next pitch, legal or illegal, to the following batter and before the pitcher and all infielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left fair territory; the batter who should have batted is out and the next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. EXCEPTION: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter.
Yes ... we agree with that. No one is disputing that if the player that incorrectly batted is scheduled up next (as B1 would be if B9 was supposed to bat), you skip that batter. However, you've extended this to skip a FUTURE batter should the player that batted out of order come up to bat later in that inning. I find no support for that anywhere.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
You would find support from the scorekeeper who needs a box on the scoresheet to record the player's at-bat, and since he's already taken one in the current column.

Oh, you meant in the rulebook. Well, who cares about that old thing.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
As I read the NFHS Case Book, the play is that if B3 makes an out then that out stands. The book states that if B3 gets on base that B3 would be pulled off the base and put back into the box to bat again, if B3 makes an out then the out stands.
Try 7.1.2 (H)
In the case book play, proper batter (B1) was skipped. Improper batter (B2)
hits ground ball and is (a) safe at 1st or (b) out at first.

Result: B1 is declared out, B2's at bat is nullified.
In (a) B2 is removed from base.
In both cases, B2 comes up to bat with one out.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Yes ... we agree with that. No one is disputing that if the player that incorrectly batted is scheduled up next (as B1 would be if B9 was supposed to bat), you skip that batter. However, you've extended this to skip a FUTURE batter should the player that batted out of order come up to bat later in that inning. I find no support for that anywhere.
A lot of people keep on referring to the literal interpretation. Where in that rule clarification does it say it had to be the IMMEDIATE proper batter?

Is not a "proper batter" the one scheduled to bat after that batter which precedes him/her in the line up?

You do not take a "proper batter" off the base to hit, why would you bring back the "proper batter" who made a recorded out to come back?

If you want to take it literally......
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Where in that rule clarification does it say it had to be the IMMEDIATE proper batter?

It depends on what the meaning of is is.

"If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter."

If we understand present tense to refer to the present and thus understand is to mean is and not will at some later point be, then you skip over that batter only if he is at present scheduled to be the proper batter.

Obviously, everybody in the lineup is scheduled to be the proper batter at some point.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by charliej47 View Post
As I read the NFHS Case Book, the play is that if B3 makes an out then that out stands. The book states that if B3 gets on base that B3 would be pulled off the base and put back into the box to bat again, if B3 makes an out then the out stands.
No, that's not what it says. Both the rule book and the case book state that the at-bat by the improper batter is negated. The at-bat cannot be negated and also have the out stand.

ASA, by contrast, states that the advance of the runners is nullified, but not that the at-bat is negated.

The NFHS rule could be a bit more clear on this point, since the PENALTY says,
Quote:
When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the next pitch (legal or illegal), or prior to an intentional base on balls (S.P.), or before the infielders leave the diamond if a half-inning is ending. The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). The improper batter's time at bat is negated and she is returned to the dugout/bench area. All outs stand and runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. If a runner advances because of a stolen base, wild pitch, passed ball (F.P.) or an illegal pitch (F.P.) while the improper batter is at bat, such advance is legal.
But in the full context of the rule, and of the case play, an out recorded by the improper batter does NOT stand.

The case play makes this clear if you do the math. It ends by stating there is one out. If the proper batter is declared out, then the improper batter's out must have been negated, otherwise there would be 2 outs.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
[QUOTE=IRISHMAFIA;678449]You do not take a "proper batter" off the base to hit, why would you bring back the "proper batter" who made a recorded out to come back?QUOTE]

Actually, I think you just made my point for me... You do not take a proper batter off the base to hit because the rulebook specifically tells you not to. If what you're asserting is the way they intended it, they would not have needed to tell us again.

In fact, I believe there was a case play with two different BOO's about 5-6 years ago that wouldn't have been BOO (on the 2nd one) if what you're asserting is what they intended ... so, now I have to dig through old books.

Is there a higher authority to ask this of?

Let me ask this... B1 singles... B6 strikes out... B2 ruled out for not batting, B6's out stands, 2 outs, B3 is up. B3-5 all hit. If B7 comes up, I have BOO again. If B6 comes up... do YOU have BOO?

Further... B1 singles ... B6 singles, B1 is thrown out at third base advancing... B2 ruled out for not batting, B1's out stands, remove B6 from the bases... B3-5 - NOW who do you have up?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
A lot of people keep on referring to the literal interpretation. Where in that rule clarification does it say it had to be the IMMEDIATE proper batter?

Is not a "proper batter" the one scheduled to bat after that batter which precedes him/her in the line up?

You do not take a "proper batter" off the base to hit, why would you bring back the "proper batter" who made a recorded out to come back?

If you want to take it literally......
In the context of the rule, "proper" and "improper" have a specific meaning with respect to who should have batted, who did bat, and who is to bat next. Broadening the meaning beyond that is not justified by the context.

I'd need more than what you have quoted to take this to mean the improper batter who makes an out is to lose her next time at bat. Specifically, I'd need ASA to say something very close to "If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat, skip that player's next turn at bat." But, then, ASA never has been known for directly and clearly worded rules.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
B1 singles. B3 then bats out of order and hits into a 6-4-3 double play. The defense appeals the BOO.

ASA: B2 is out for failing to bat when he should have. The double play stands. Three outs, inning over. B4—correction: B3—leads off the next inning.

Fed: B2 is out for failing to bat when he should have. B1's out at 2B stands. B3 bats again with 2 out.

NCAA: B2 is out for failing to bat when he should have. B1 returns to 1B, and B3 bats with 1 out.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Tue May 25, 2010 at 03:34pm.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
[QUOTE=greymule;678479]B1 singles. B3 then bats out of order and hits into a 6-4-3 double play. The defense appeals the BOO.

ASA: B2 is out for failing to bat when he should have. The double play stands. Three outs, inning over. B4 leads off the next inning.
[QUOTE]You sure? Playing devil's advocate here, but what rule prevents:

DP stands, B2 is out. Next inning... the last out of the PREVIOUS inning was B2. B3, who has not batted this inning, is up.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Oops! You're absolutely right. The next inning puts B3 up again. The parallel example is right in the "clarifications."

Thanks.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1