![]() |
|
|
|||
Yes, there was an earlier thread on this, too.
Everything in the "clarifications" makes sense to me, including: "EXCEPTION: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter." I read this literally, as applying only when the batter who batted out of order and made an out happens to be the next proper batter. I don't see anything in the clarifications or the rules indicating that any batter who bats out of order and makes an out (and BOO is appealed) is skipped over if he is to come to bat later in the inning. But if this is indeed the case, then a rule should be written to reflect that fact, e.g., "If an improper batter makes an out and the defense appeals, the out made by the improper batter counts, the batter who failed to bat when he should have is called out, the next batter in the lineup becomes the proper batter, and the improper batter who made an out is skipped over the first time he comes to bat later in the inning." Otherwise, we're expanding the exception, which clearly applies in one specific case, to everybody in the lineup. But again, let's see a case play or get a ruling from ASA. In fact, I'll see if I still have Bob Mauger's e-mail address.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
Speaking ASA, If B1 is scheduled to bat, but B3 bats instead and makes an out: B2 is called out for BOO, B3's out stands, B3 is skipped based on the exception because she is now the proper batter at that instant, and B4 will bat. If B1 is scheduled to bat, but B4 bats instead and makes an out: B2 is called out for BOO, B4's out stands, B3 is scheduled to be the proper batter, so she is brought to the plate. At the time of "play ball," the order is then B3, B4, B5... After establishing the proper batter at the time of the BOO, the lineup thereafter cannot change because no rule supports such a change. The exception applies only to the instant that you are deciding who is the proper batter. Good luck keeping the scorebook on that one. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|