The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Cool Boo

ASA - I'm calling the plate. For shortness I'll use numbers.
B1 bats and gets on 1st. B3 bats and strikes out. B4 comes to the box and HC calls time and requests BOO rule. I whip out my handy-dandy lineup cards and sure enough we have a BOO. I call B2 out for the second out and tell VC to put B3 back in the box. VC wants to protest. I inform the HC that the VC is protesting. B3 strikes out again to end the inning. game continues and the visiting team wins by 3.

I did not hear back from the committee so I guess I was upheld.

I have checked the rules and as far as I can determine I did it correctly. Any one have any comments?
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
In ASA, B2 is out for BOO, B3's out stands, and B4 should have batted. HC should have protested because you removed another out. Not sure why VC protested?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 10:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: South Whitley, IN
Posts: 180
PSU is correct, but I'm left wondering why you let B3 bat again even though you apparently let her initial strikeout stand. I've never been involved in a protest, but IMO since B4 should have been the correct batter, the protest would have been upheld had the visiting team lost the game.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
ASA Rule 7-2-c-exception: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time a bat... skip that player...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Charlie, I know that you work high school ball here in Ohio. Your call would have been correct under NFHS rules- IF you would have negated B3's first strike out and cancelled her "first" out, which it sounds like you didn't do.

Your final call enforced some sort of hybrid combination of the FED rule and the ASA rule that isn't correct for either one!

As pointed out, the ASA rule is a little bit different. The out made by an improper batter stands. Her at-bat is official. Since she is the next batter in the line-up, but her at-bat has been completed, the next proper batter should be B4.

This is one of those nagging rule differences that we get to deal with. It doesn't help matters that the BOO rule is a full page long and has many twists and turns to begin with. When you factor in that it's a rule we rarely deal with on the field, not really getting much chance to wrap our minds around all the in's and out's in a practical "real world" situation, it makes it easy to miss one of these nagging points.

By the way, the reason you never heard anything back about the protest is probably because the protesting team won the game. When that happens, the protest is moot and ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
ASA, Fed, and NCAA all treat BOO differently.

As previous posters have noted, in the OP, ASA would have B3's out stand and B2 out for failing to bat in the proper order. B3 is skipped over, and B4 bats. However, if B4 had batted instead of B2 and struck out, then B4's strikeout would stand, B2 would be out, and B3 would bat followed by B4 (batting for the second time in the inning).

In ASA, it is never to the disadvantage of the defense to appeal BOO. In NCAA (which follows OBR) and Fed, there are situations in which it's better not to appeal.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 12:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
ASA, Fed, and NCAA all treat BOO differently.

As previous posters have noted, in the OP, ASA would have B3's out stand and B2 out for failing to bat in the proper order. B3 is skipped over, and B4 bats. However, if B4 had batted instead of B2 and struck out, then B4's strikeout would stand, B2 would be out, and B3 would bat followed by B4 (batting for the second time in the inning).
No, I believe in ASA, a batter who has made an out would not be provided the opportunity to make another out in the same inning until the other 8/9 batters have had an equal opportunity.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sun May 23, 2010 at 12:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
No, I believe in ASA, a batter who has made an out would not be provided the opportunity to make another out in the same inning until the other 8/9 batters have had an equal opportunity.

Well, we disagree on this. I'm interpreting ". . . and is scheduled to be the proper batter" as applying at the moment the penalty is enforced, not after a batter or several batters later in the inning.

In other words, I think you skip B3 if he made an out when B2 was supposed to bat, or B5 instead of B4, or B9 instead of B8. But if, for example, B8 batted and made an out when B4 was supposed to bat, then B4 is out, B5 bats, and B8 would bat a second time in that inning if his turn came up. (Otherwise, the rules should say something about not batting again in the inning until you've gone through the order.)

I suspect you are deriving your interpretation partly from Part d, where the change of inning would appear to allow the batter "scheduled to be the proper batter" to bat again. For example, B3 bats instead of B2 and strikes out for the second out. The defense appeals the BOO. B2 is called out for the third out. Now, according to Part d, B3 leads off the next inning, batting for the second time in a row.

But this is merely my reading of the rules. I never sought an official ruling from ASA. I don't know of a definitive case play on this situation, but if I get time today, I'll see whether I can find one.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
No, I believe in ASA, a batter who has made an out would not be provided the opportunity to make another out in the same inning until the other 8/9 batters have had an equal opportunity.

Well, we disagree on this. I'm interpreting ". . . and is scheduled to be the proper batter" as applying at the moment the penalty is enforced, not after a batter or several batters later in the inning.

In other words, I think you skip B3 if he made an out when B2 was supposed to bat, or B5 instead of B4, or B9 instead of B8. But if, for example, B8 batted and made an out when B4 was supposed to bat, then B4 is out, B5 bats, and B8 would bat a second time in that inning if his turn came up. (Otherwise, the rules should say something about not batting again in the inning until you've gone through the order.)

I suspect you are deriving your interpretation partly from Part d, where the change of inning would appear to allow the batter "scheduled to be the proper batter" to bat again. For example, B3 bats instead of B2 and strikes out for the second out. The defense appeals the BOO. B2 is called out for the third out. Now, according to Part d, B3 leads off the next inning, batting for the second time in a row.

But this is merely my reading of the rules. I never sought an official ruling from ASA. I don't know of a definitive case play on this situation, but if I get time today, I'll see whether I can find one.
Go to an earlier thread here.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Yes, there was an earlier thread on this, too.

Everything in the "clarifications" makes sense to me, including:

"EXCEPTION: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter."


I read this literally, as applying only when the batter who batted out of order and made an out happens to be the next proper batter. I don't see anything in the clarifications or the rules indicating that any batter who bats out of order and makes an out (and BOO is appealed) is skipped over if he is to come to bat later in the inning.

But if this is indeed the case, then a rule should be written to reflect that fact, e.g., "If an improper batter makes an out and the defense appeals, the out made by the improper batter counts, the batter who failed to bat when he should have is called out, the next batter in the lineup becomes the proper batter, and the improper batter who made an out is skipped over the first time he comes to bat later in the inning."

Otherwise, we're expanding the exception, which clearly applies in one specific case, to everybody in the lineup.

But again, let's see a case play or get a ruling from ASA. In fact, I'll see if I still have Bob Mauger's e-mail address.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Whatever
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
No, I believe in ASA, a batter who has made an out would not be provided the opportunity to make another out in the same inning until the other 8/9 batters have had an equal opportunity.
I'm very reluctant to disagree with Mike... ever... as I'm usually proved wrong. But I'm about 99.9% sure this statement is incorrect. B1, B4 K, BOO appeal (B2 out for not batting, B4's out stands), B3 ... then B4 is up to bat. You don't skip that batter. Please show me the rule where it says you do.

If you do ... what about this:

B1, B9K, BOO Appeal (B2 out for not batting, B9's K stands)... then B3,4,5,6,7,8 all hit - are you skipping 9 now?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I'm very reluctant to disagree with Mike... ever... as I'm usually proved wrong. But I'm about 99.9% sure this statement is incorrect. B1, B4 K, BOO appeal (B2 out for not batting, B4's out stands), B3 ... then B4 is up to bat. You don't skip that batter. Please show me the rule where it says you do.
From the previously cited Rule Clarifications:

Play 1: With no outs, B9 is scheduled to bat but B1 bats. B1 hits a fly ball that is caught by F7. Before the next pitch, the defense appeals that B1 batted out of order.
Ruling: B9 is out as B9 is the correct batter and B1 remains out. B2 bats next with two outs. Per Rule 7, Section 2 D 2, after the incorrect batter has completed their turn at bat and before the next pitch, legal or illegal, to the following batter and before the pitcher and all infielders have clearly vacated their normal fielding positions and have left fair territory; the batter who should have batted is out and the next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. EXCEPTION: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 05:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Talking Boo

Going back to the original OP:
I discussed this with the state ASA rules interpreter and B3 would be skipped "for that round" of batting. If the team batted around and B3 came up the "second" time then she would bat.

Also NFHS Rule 7.1.2 CASE book situations G and H describe the play where B3 would bat again as the proper batter.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 05:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 281
Send a message via AIM to charliej47 Send a message via MSN to charliej47 Send a message via Yahoo to charliej47
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
Charlie, I know that you work high school ball here in Ohio. Your call would have been correct under NFHS rules- IF you would have negated B3's first strike out and cancelled her "first" out, which it sounds like you didn't do.

Your final call enforced some sort of hybrid combination of the FED rule and the ASA rule that isn't correct for either one!

As pointed out, the ASA rule is a little bit different. The out made by an improper batter stands. Her at-bat is official. Since she is the next batter in the line-up, but her at-bat has been completed, the next proper batter should be B4.

This is one of those nagging rule differences that we get to deal with. It doesn't help matters that the BOO rule is a full page long and has many twists and turns to begin with. When you factor in that it's a rule we rarely deal with on the field, not really getting much chance to wrap our minds around all the in's and out's in a practical "real world" situation, it makes it easy to miss one of these nagging points.

By the way, the reason you never heard anything back about the protest is probably because the protesting team won the game. When that happens, the protest is moot and ignored.
IT appears that the only differenced between ASA and NFHS is that the B3 is skipped for ASA and would bat again for NFHS.
__________________
Charles Johnson Jr
NFHS Class #1 softball/baseball
ASA/USSSA
Dayton, Ohio

I have been umpiring so long that it was called Rounders when I started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1