The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Denton County, TX
Posts: 58
Interference Question

Thought this sit had been discuused last year but can't find it.....

ASA Rules, select ball not rec league.

R1 on 3B and R2 on 2b, less than 2 outs. Batter hits a shot to right field. R1 crosses home plate and R2 rounds 3B and goes home. F4 throws ball to F2 who tries to tag R2 as she gets to the plate. However, R1 decided she missed the plate and returned to step on the plate just as F2 is trying to tag R2. R1 clearly interfered with the play.

I was on bases and my partner had a brain freeze at the plate so I ruled interference and R2 out since I thought R1 had scored.

Questions- how could R1 return to try to touch the plate and not interfere? Next, had R1 not returned to touch home plate, could the defense still appeal a missed base on R1 after R2 scored? After the dust settled on this one and all the yelling died down I began to doubt my sanity about it all.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference Question travlinmatt Baseball 11 Tue May 26, 2009 02:39pm
Interference question bluduc Baseball 2 Mon Oct 18, 2004 03:23pm
Interference Question harmbu Baseball 12 Fri Apr 02, 2004 01:53am
Interference question rafking Softball 11 Thu Mar 25, 2004 03:36pm
Interference Question Stair-Climber Softball 9 Sat Mar 20, 2004 09:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1