View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2010, 09:50pm
NCASAUmp NCASAUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by FullCount View Post
Thought this sit had been discuused last year but can't find it.....

ASA Rules, select ball not rec league.

R1 on 3B and R2 on 2b, less than 2 outs. Batter hits a shot to right field. R1 crosses home plate and R2 rounds 3B and goes home. F4 throws ball to F2 who tries to tag R2 as she gets to the plate. However, R1 decided she missed the plate and returned to step on the plate just as F2 is trying to tag R2. R1 clearly interfered with the play.

I was on bases and my partner had a brain freeze at the plate so I ruled interference and R2 out since I thought R1 had scored.
Sounds good to me. Consistent with 8-7-P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullCount View Post
Questions- how could R1 return to try to touch the plate and not interfere?
Doesn't really matter. They still have an obligation NOT to interfere with any plays once they've scored or are put out as per 8-7-P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullCount View Post
Next, had R1 not returned to touch home plate, could the defense still appeal a missed base on R1 after R2 scored?
Absolutely. Once R2 crosses HP, R1 may not return to touch the missed plate. If they do, it doesn't count. If the defense appeals, I've got an out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullCount View Post
After the dust settled on this one and all the yelling died down I began to doubt my sanity about it all.
Your sanity was sound, brother. Good call.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote