![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
________ Volcano video review Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:16pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() As officials, we apply judgement to the black-and-white of the rules book. Officiating happens in the grey. (At least the difficult part ... the part we're really paid to do ... does.) Perhaps I used my grey crayon a bit outside the lines in my sitch. ![]() The NFHS rulebook says a runner cannot leave a base "for any reason" when the ball is in the pitcher's possession in the circle. Whether erroneously believing a ball was foul or losing contact with a base while shifting feet, runners in both situations are leaving the base. A runner tagged by a fielder with the ball in either sitch are out. My point is: the same arguments can be made for the foot-shifting scenario that were made against the brain-farting baserunner. Directives from higherups notwithstanding, why would it be okay to call an out in one situation, but not the other? Are they not, essentially, the same situation in that the runner is leaving the base "for any reason"? Discuss. |
|
|||
I just got this from one of my college assignors. It is an approved NCAA ruling from Dee Abrahamson:
Quote:
|
|
|||
As a follow up.
I sent this to a member of the NUS: Had a recent discussion among some umpires about the LBR. When the issue about whether or not to make the call if there was no definitive advantage led us to the argument about calling a runner out for "clearing the spikes, falling off the base, shifting weight, switching feet" because "technically" the runner has violated the LBR by losig contact with the base. The LBR states a runner violates the rule by "leaving" the base. However, I think we have some umpires who take RS#34.I to heart where it is stated that if a runner is standing off the base without immediately advancing, they are in violation. Obviously, I believe the runner is still bound to be in contact with the base until the pitcher releases the ball, a little common sense would tell an umpire that would be when the pitcher is preparing to pitch, not when she is standing there just catching her breath or taking a second for her catcher to set. Well, in my mind shifting one's weight, clearing the spikes, switching feet and, for that matter, even simply slipping off the edge of the base, is not leaving the base. Technicality? Semantics? Call it what you may, this may be an acceptable interpretation for not calling a runner out for simply losing contact with the base, but not moving from that space. This is the response I received: You are correct on all points. What you are describing, in the time frame you are describing it, is perfectly legal. Once on the bag, the changing of which foot is touching the bag when both feet leave the bag is legal. We must go back to the 70's to derive the intent of the Rule. It's intent goes along with why it was named the "look back rule". Prior to it's implementation, the pitcher used to have to 'look the runner back to the bag', if the runner was off the bag. If the pitcher looked him back and then turned away, the runner would then stay off the bag and dance etc. It slowed the game considerably. Thus the current rule. So any adjustments, well prior to the pitch, still are legal per the intent of the rule. Rule 8, Section 7 2, does not help much when it says "Once the runner stops at a base for any reason, the runner will be declared out the leaving the base", this refers to a bona-fide attempt to leave as opposed to the changing of feet on the bag.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
spirit of the rule | OHBBREF | Basketball | 57 | Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:04pm |
Spirit of the Rule Balk Part 2 | bluehair | Baseball | 2 | Sat Jan 05, 2008 07:31pm |
Spirit of the rules | JRutledge | Basketball | 15 | Tue Mar 13, 2001 05:55pm |