The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 03:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 7
Flex runs for DP

guys forgive my posts.. I almost have it down.

AZ Ump says that when the Flex runs the bases on offense for the DP, the DP is leaving the game and the Flex enters the offense in DP spot; hence, the person playing DP has one reentry left.

I thought the Flex could run for the DP, but the DP hasn't left the game.


Is this how you interpret it?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 05:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NPRIVITOR View Post
guys forgive my posts.. I almost have it down.

AZ Ump says that when the Flex runs the bases on offense for the DP, the DP is leaving the game and the Flex enters the offense in DP spot; hence, the person playing DP has one reentry left.

I thought the Flex could run for the DP, but the DP hasn't left the game.


Is this how you interpret it?

The Flex and DP cannot be on offense at the same time, right? If the Flex is a runner, are they not now on offense? And since both cannot be on offense at the same time, does that not mean the DP cannot be in the game?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 05:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
flex going in for DP, counts as a substition
DP going into the field on defense, flex comes out, counts as a substitution

DP goes on defense for someone else, flex stays on defense, no substitution here.

very simple.

lineup starts with 9, then we won't have a DP/flex at all
lineup starts with 10, team can go back and forth between 9 and 10 players

each player gets two entries into the game, all starters use up one entry to begin the game (fed rules, let me know if i'm wrong here...)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by bniu View Post
flex going in for DP, counts as a substition
DP going into the field on defense FOR THE FLEX, flex comes out, counts as a substitution
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 22, 2010, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.
the two entries per player rule still holds, so if gonzalez the starting DP goes in for molina the starting flex, and then molina goes back out for gonzalez, and then gonzalez goes back in for molina, at that point, molina is out of the game but Sosa, who's been sitting on the bench can be the new flex and go back out... Gonzalez can still come out of the game and go back in for her 2nd entry (her first one was used up as a starter...)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Not to split hairs but...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.
A player only has one re-entry. They can be in the game twice, however, the first time is technically not a re-entry. The ASA rule book also splits this hair as well. So the above statement isn't accurate. If the FLEX or DP has used their re-entry they are out of the game. They can't replace anyone.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 02:34pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Here's what helps me keep this rule straight: Remember the job description of each player.

DP: Her job is to play offense. Doesn't mean she can never play defense, but her job is to play offense. If she's not playing offense, she's not doing her job and she's out of the game. She can play defense for anybody she wants. It does not count as a substitution unless she plays defense for the FLEX. Why? Well ....

FLEX: Her job is to play defense. If she's not doing her job, she's out of the game. If she runs for the DP ... no troubles, because she's still playing defense. If she hits for the DP ... same deal.

In each case, if the DP or the FLEX is out of the game, they have a re-entry remaining if they haven't already re-entered the game.

Remember: the FLEX and the DP are locked into the same place in the batting order. The only place the FLEX could play offense is in the DP's spot in the lineup.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2010, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
A player only has one re-entry. They can be in the game twice, however, the first time is technically not a re-entry. The ASA rule book also splits this hair as well.
How so with either rule set?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 24, 2010, 06:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
A player only has one re-entry. They can be in the game twice, however, the first time is technically not a re-entry. The ASA rule book also splits this hair as well. So the above statement isn't accurate. If the FLEX or DP has used their re-entry they are out of the game. They can't replace anyone.
Starting FLEX - #18
third inning - #14 replaces #18 as FLEX
fifth inning - #18 re-enters as FLEX
sixth inning - #18 as FLEX runs for DP
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many runs score? MNBlue Softball 10 Fri Apr 10, 2009 08:38am
Scoring of runs???? Keith Softball 5 Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:28am
Clock runs during FT.... zebra44 Basketball 5 Mon Nov 22, 2004 08:36am
Reporting Flex for DP and DP for Flex shipwreck Softball 5 Tue Sep 07, 2004 02:44pm
115 runs Duke Softball 9 Mon May 10, 2004 11:11am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1