The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Flex runs for DP (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/57650-flex-runs-dp.html)

NPRIVITOR Mon Mar 22, 2010 03:28am

Flex runs for DP
 
guys forgive my posts.. I almost have it down.

AZ Ump says that when the Flex runs the bases on offense for the DP, the DP is leaving the game and the Flex enters the offense in DP spot; hence, the person playing DP has one reentry left.

I thought the Flex could run for the DP, but the DP hasn't left the game.


Is this how you interpret it?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 22, 2010 05:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NPRIVITOR (Post 669719)
guys forgive my posts.. I almost have it down.

AZ Ump says that when the Flex runs the bases on offense for the DP, the DP is leaving the game and the Flex enters the offense in DP spot; hence, the person playing DP has one reentry left.

I thought the Flex could run for the DP, but the DP hasn't left the game.


Is this how you interpret it?


The Flex and DP cannot be on offense at the same time, right? If the Flex is a runner, are they not now on offense? And since both cannot be on offense at the same time, does that not mean the DP cannot be in the game?

bniu Mon Mar 22, 2010 05:59am

flex going in for DP, counts as a substition
DP going into the field on defense, flex comes out, counts as a substitution

DP goes on defense for someone else, flex stays on defense, no substitution here.

very simple.

lineup starts with 9, then we won't have a DP/flex at all
lineup starts with 10, team can go back and forth between 9 and 10 players

each player gets two entries into the game, all starters use up one entry to begin the game (fed rules, let me know if i'm wrong here...)

CecilOne Mon Mar 22, 2010 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bniu (Post 669726)
flex going in for DP, counts as a substition
DP going into the field on defense FOR THE FLEX, flex comes out, counts as a substitution

Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.

bniu Mon Mar 22, 2010 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 669784)
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.

the two entries per player rule still holds, so if gonzalez the starting DP goes in for molina the starting flex, and then molina goes back out for gonzalez, and then gonzalez goes back in for molina, at that point, molina is out of the game but Sosa, who's been sitting on the bench can be the new flex and go back out... Gonzalez can still come out of the game and go back in for her 2nd entry (her first one was used up as a starter...)

rwest Tue Mar 23, 2010 08:56am

Not to split hairs but...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 669784)
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.

A player only has one re-entry. They can be in the game twice, however, the first time is technically not a re-entry. The ASA rule book also splits this hair as well. So the above statement isn't accurate. If the FLEX or DP has used their re-entry they are out of the game. They can't replace anyone.

RadioBlue Tue Mar 23, 2010 02:34pm

Here's what helps me keep this rule straight: Remember the job description of each player.

DP: Her job is to play offense. Doesn't mean she can never play defense, but her job is to play offense. If she's not playing offense, she's not doing her job and she's out of the game. She can play defense for anybody she wants. It does not count as a substitution unless she plays defense for the FLEX. Why? Well ....

FLEX: Her job is to play defense. If she's not doing her job, she's out of the game. If she runs for the DP ... no troubles, because she's still playing defense. If she hits for the DP ... same deal.

In each case, if the DP or the FLEX is out of the game, they have a re-entry remaining if they haven't already re-entered the game.

Remember: the FLEX and the DP are locked into the same place in the batting order. The only place the FLEX could play offense is in the DP's spot in the lineup.

Hope this helps.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Mar 23, 2010 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 670063)
A player only has one re-entry. They can be in the game twice, however, the first time is technically not a re-entry. The ASA rule book also splits this hair as well.

How so with either rule set?

CecilOne Wed Mar 24, 2010 06:24am

Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 670063)
A player only has one re-entry. They can be in the game twice, however, the first time is technically not a re-entry. The ASA rule book also splits this hair as well. So the above statement isn't accurate. If the FLEX or DP has used their re-entry they are out of the game. They can't replace anyone.

Starting FLEX - #18
third inning - #14 replaces #18 as FLEX
fifth inning - #18 re-enters as FLEX
sixth inning - #18 as FLEX runs for DP

rwest Wed Mar 24, 2010 08:34am

Mike, I'm not sure what you are asking?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 670191)
How so with either rule set?

Are you saying that a player doesn't have just one re-entry? I need clarification on the question.

rwest Wed Mar 24, 2010 08:38am

This doesn't prove your point
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 670263)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Not quite a substitution, because if one had already used a re-entry, she can still replace the other.



Starting FLEX - #18
third inning - #14 replaces #18 as FLEX
fifth inning - #18 re-enters as FLEX
sixth inning - #18 as FLEX runs for DP

#18 has re-entered once and that was in the 5th inning. When she ran for the DP that is not a re-entry. The FLEX only left the game once.

CecilOne Wed Mar 24, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 670290)
#18 has re-entered once and that was in the 5th inning. When she ran for the DP that is not a re-entry. The FLEX only left the game once.

Exactly, just illustrating my point about "for DP" not being a real substitution.

rwest Wed Mar 24, 2010 01:23pm

Ok
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 670359)
Exactly, just illustrating my point about "for DP" not being a real substitution.

I can agree with that!

IRISHMAFIA Wed Mar 24, 2010 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 670289)
Are you saying that a player doesn't have just one re-entry? I need clarification on the question.

Its real simple since I cited the part of your post I questioned. You stated hairs were being split and I asked you how so.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1