The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
In ASA and Fed, there is an exception for the "retired runner continuing to run and drawing a throw" interference rule (ASA 8-7P, NFHS 8-7-18) for a batter-runner running on the dropped third strike rule.

Even though both books word this exception in an unfortunate manner, leading to constant arguments/discussions as to whether it applies when the D3K rule is not in effect, when the batter is still a batter and not a BR, etc., etc., case plays such as NFHS 8.1.1-B make it clear the exception applies to when the batter/BR runs "as if" on the D3K rule.

Therefore, the retired batter is not out for merely running and drawing a throw. I don't see how being hit with the thrown ball changes anything.
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Fri Mar 19, 2010 at 12:12pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stump the chump kdf5 Football 2 Fri Feb 04, 2005 02:43pm
stump the chump 3? MJT Football 5 Wed Jan 26, 2005 01:04pm
Stump the chump - 2 ?s MJT Football 24 Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:44pm
Stump the Chump -- Jan 11 Bob M. Football 2 Tue Jan 11, 2005 02:14pm
Stump the chump - 4 ?s MJT Football 15 Fri Jan 07, 2005 03:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1