The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
In ASA and Fed, there is an exception for the "retired runner continuing to run and drawing a throw" interference rule (ASA 8-7P, NFHS 8-7-18) for a batter-runner running on the dropped third strike rule.

Even though both books word this exception in an unfortunate manner, leading to constant arguments/discussions as to whether it applies with the D3K rule is not in effect, when the batter is still a batter and not a BR, etc., etc., case plays such as NFHS 8.1.1-B make it clear the exception applies to when the batter/BR runs "as if" on the D3K rule.

Therefore, the retired batter is not out for merely running and drawing a throw. I don't see how being hit with the thrown ball changes anything.
Generally agree, but "hitting the former batter in the back" is not very specific. Does the running lane rule apply to this sitch and if so, did the non-BR interfere with the fielder taking a throw?

The jmkkupka comment "If IMO the catcher was attempting a pickoff throw (instead of thinking D3K), I'd have the batter out (strike 3 + INT), and R1 is out." is worth considering.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
...The jmkkupka comment "If IMO the catcher was attempting a pickoff throw (instead of thinking D3K), I'd have the batter out (strike 3 + INT), and R1 is out." is worth considering.
Why does it matter what F2 was thinking and how would the umpire know? The exception applies to the runner's actions.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Why does it matter what F2 was thinking and how would the umpire know? The exception applies to the runner's actions.
You are right, it doesn't make a difference.........if you believe that is what happened.

The exception only excludes the retired BR from being called for interference when drawing a throw on an uncaught third strike.

However, I do not believe that exemption applies to interfering with a thrown ball or play.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Why does it matter what F2 was thinking and how would the umpire know? The exception applies to the runner's actions.
You are right, what does it matter what the catcher was thinking.
The catcher was throwing the ball to first base and the retired batter was (intentionally, if you need it) where she shouldn't be and interfered with the throw.
She isn't interfering by drawing the throw (where the exception would be valid), she is intefering by putting herself in the path of the throw.

Last edited by HugoTafurst; Fri Mar 19, 2010 at 02:52pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 19, 2010, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
So is the concensus on these situations:

a) R2 was standing with her arms crossed on 1B
b) R2 on her way to 2B
c) R2 is diving back into 1B

situation a, b: Nothing (no play, not interfering with a play)
situation c: Runner closest to home (R1) out for interference.

Is that right?
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 25, 2010, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 63
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC View Post
So is the concensus on these situations:

a) R2 was standing with her arms crossed on 1B
b) R2 on her way to 2B
c) R2 is diving back into 1B

situation a, b: Nothing (no play, not interfering with a play)
situation c: Runner closest to home (R1) out for interference.

Is that right?
IMHO:
A) Nothing - no play
B) Interference - f2 may throw to first to try and get a run down or some type of play on R2.
C) Interference.
__________________
_____________________________
TJ
ASA Softball Umpire for Life!
ASA Lifetime Member
ASA, NFHS, NCAA
[IAABO95]

Softball is serious, life is a mere distraction.
http://twitter.com/MASoftballUmpTJ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stump the chump kdf5 Football 2 Fri Feb 04, 2005 02:43pm
stump the chump 3? MJT Football 5 Wed Jan 26, 2005 01:04pm
Stump the chump - 2 ?s MJT Football 24 Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:44pm
Stump the Chump -- Jan 11 Bob M. Football 2 Tue Jan 11, 2005 02:14pm
Stump the chump - 4 ?s MJT Football 15 Fri Jan 07, 2005 03:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1