![]() |
|
|
|||
In ASA and Fed, there is an exception for the "retired runner continuing to run and drawing a throw" interference rule (ASA 8-7P, NFHS 8-7-18) for a batter-runner running on the dropped third strike rule.
Even though both books word this exception in an unfortunate manner, leading to constant arguments/discussions as to whether it applies when the D3K rule is not in effect, when the batter is still a batter and not a BR, etc., etc., case plays such as NFHS 8.1.1-B make it clear the exception applies to when the batter/BR runs "as if" on the D3K rule. Therefore, the retired batter is not out for merely running and drawing a throw. I don't see how being hit with the thrown ball changes anything.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Fri Mar 19, 2010 at 12:12pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
The jmkkupka comment "If IMO the catcher was attempting a pickoff throw (instead of thinking D3K), I'd have the batter out (strike 3 + INT), and R1 is out." is worth considering.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Why does it matter what F2 was thinking and how would the umpire know? The exception applies to the runner's actions.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
The exception only excludes the retired BR from being called for interference when drawing a throw on an uncaught third strike. However, I do not believe that exemption applies to interfering with a thrown ball or play.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
The catcher was throwing the ball to first base and the retired batter was (intentionally, if you need it) where she shouldn't be and interfered with the throw. She isn't interfering by drawing the throw (where the exception would be valid), she is intefering by putting herself in the path of the throw. Last edited by HugoTafurst; Fri Mar 19, 2010 at 02:52pm. |
|
|||
So is the concensus on these situations:
a) R2 was standing with her arms crossed on 1B b) R2 on her way to 2B c) R2 is diving back into 1B situation a, b: Nothing (no play, not interfering with a play) situation c: Runner closest to home (R1) out for interference. Is that right?
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
A) Nothing - no play B) Interference - f2 may throw to first to try and get a run down or some type of play on R2. C) Interference.
__________________
_____________________________ TJ ASA Softball Umpire for Life! ASA Lifetime Member ASA, NFHS, NCAA [IAABO95] Softball is serious, life is a mere distraction. http://twitter.com/MASoftballUmpTJ |
|
|||
Quote:
When reading the post for some reason, I was picturing the addition of the runner being outside the running lane. Although this doesn't actually qualify as a running lane violation - it still could be enough to qualify for the first sentence of 8-6-18, eh? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Stump the chump | kdf5 | Football | 2 | Fri Feb 04, 2005 02:43pm |
stump the chump 3? | MJT | Football | 5 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 01:04pm |
Stump the chump - 2 ?s | MJT | Football | 24 | Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:44pm |
Stump the Chump -- Jan 11 | Bob M. | Football | 2 | Tue Jan 11, 2005 02:14pm |
Stump the chump - 4 ?s | MJT | Football | 15 | Fri Jan 07, 2005 03:48pm |