![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
your comment was previously noted already. I do not know where in the rulebook or umpires manual that says that ignoring an appeal when requested is permissible. the discussion issue is what is an umpire's duty when the appeal is made as the OP described.
from the thread responses, you seem to maintain that doing nothing is not only acceptable, but is the only proper thing to do. I am not saying that it's not something you couldn't do. I am suggesting that doing nothing might be a cop out, and it could or might even be wrong. but I am working off the premise that when team asks an umpire in an appeal situation to rule, as in this instance, an umpire is obligated to respond and rule w/in a finite duration as prescribed in the umpire's manual. when requested, the umpire has 4 possible responses, do NOTHING, call TIME, call OUT, call SAFE. when confronted with an appeal situation as OP described, does an umpire have all the elements to call OUT? is the umpire permitted to do and say NOTHING? if you call TIME, are you looking for a new job? lets say for argument's sake an umpire rules SAFE at 1B on the OP's appeal situation. ball is still LIVE regardless. the D could still throw the ball back into the circle, or still run down and tag that runner, and if they do, it's still a live ball appeal. an initial ruling does not preclude further follow up appeal in NFHS. in ASA, not sure, I think you only get one. since I am here to discuss, not to name call, and since you volunteered to help comment, please by all means, make the call. Last edited by shagpal; Mon Feb 08, 2010 at 03:40pm. |
|
|||
|
I understand your dilemma. We as umps do coach, during the pregame for example when we remind players that there will be do hitting above the belt (ie slide, give up, go around). During the game, during a live ball, we can only call according to the rules. Eventually, no matter what, play will continue but we can't coach even if it is to both sides during a play. Even if you have a player acting up you do the coaching during a dead ball.
|
|
|||
|
are you in the "do nothing" camp too? I'm confounded by your reply. no one seems to want to setup up and make the call.
Quote:
Last edited by shagpal; Mon Feb 08, 2010 at 04:02pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
At least five experienced umpires have given you their point of view. Because none of them agree with you, you keep asking the same question. Over and over. You're repeating yourself. You're being redundant. Please, accept or reject the advice you've been offered. But let's move on!
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
|
no, I came into this discussion late, and read varying view points, and seemed not one of was willing to call SAFE.
all except one voiced that it was necessary to respond somehow, all the others expressed that doing nothing is okay. the NFHS umpires manual says you gotta give a call. Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm getting lost here.... How bout if you start at the beginning and state the play and your reaction. We may have gone so far that we are seeing different situations. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Brought to you by.................
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Also, as the saying goes, "Silence can't be misquoted." It usually applies to a different context but I think remaining silent will keep you out of trouble here as well. |
|
|||
|
seth, way to step and man up. you didn't get nasty. alot of guys can learn from you.
honestly, my first reaction was to "do nothing" as well, so I am not blaming everyone's initial take. but remembering that every play deserves call, and that in this scenario, the OP is describing players expressly requesting a ruling on an appeal, got me thinking about TEX's point of view. I was appalled to see the reaction of those that seemed to gang mug Tex, because what he posted seemed to have merit, and the replies challenging him seemed empty and to lack merit. unless there's some case study floating out there to dig up, and I can't know everything published, the ump manuals I have are very explicit on this issue, that an umpire is required to rule when an appeal is requested, and the play the OP described is explicitly appealable. an umpire can ask the appellants what is being appealed, and this is NOT considered coaching. stat Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Tex misapplied a mechanic to a play that is described as an appeal play that truly is not an appeal play, but simply a live ball still in play where a runner may or may not advance and the defense can only stop the runner by putting them out or throwing the ball out of play. Something I believe we have established here via the rule book. I guess we really don't need a case study then, do we?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
No, it doesn't, but besides, no one has made a play here on which to make a call.There is no appeal to rule on, regardless of what the player "requests." The only way to get the runner out is to tag the runner, not tag the base.
__________________
Tom Last edited by Dakota; Tue Feb 09, 2010 at 11:25am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| B-R turn at 1B | tcannizzo | Softball | 6 | Mon Nov 17, 2008 12:03pm |
| I guess it was my turn. | Rich | Basketball | 18 | Sun Jan 14, 2007 04:43pm |
| Everyone Turn On PMs | Snake~eyes | Basketball | 9 | Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:11pm |
| OK...my turn | Bob M. | Football | 22 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:57am |
| My turn!!! | Suppref | Basketball | 4 | Fri Mar 02, 2001 06:37pm |