The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2002, 01:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
No, it is not a force, and while an appeal of a missed base to which the runner was forced is treated like a force for purposes of scoring runs on the 3rd out, it still requires a proper appeal.

Rule 8-3-B
... When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched the base...

Rule 8-8-C
THE RUNNER IS OUT When, on a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball,... before the runner reaches the base.

So, the runner has reached the base. The force no longer applies.

Rule 8-8-G
THE RUNNER IS OUT When the runner fails to touch the intervening base ... and the ball is returned to an infielder and properly appealed.

So, the accidental touch of the base would only have the runner out if the touch happened before the runner passed the base. After that, it must be properly appealed.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1