View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2002, 01:58pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
No, it is not a force, and while an appeal of a missed base to which the runner was forced is treated like a force for purposes of scoring runs on the 3rd out, it still requires a proper appeal.

Rule 8-3-B
... When a runner passes a base, the runner is considered to have touched the base...

Rule 8-8-C
THE RUNNER IS OUT When, on a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball,... before the runner reaches the base.

So, the runner has reached the base. The force no longer applies.

Rule 8-8-G
THE RUNNER IS OUT When the runner fails to touch the intervening base ... and the ball is returned to an infielder and properly appealed.

So, the accidental touch of the base would only have the runner out if the touch happened before the runner passed the base. After that, it must be properly appealed.
Reply With Quote