View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 17, 2002, 11:32am
Joe Kupka Joe Kupka is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to Joe Kupka
This play was discussed several months ago, & I need the the rule that was cited:
R1, no outs, batter singles to deep right. R1 misses 2nd & proceeeds to 3rd. While taking the cutoff, F4 inadvertantly brushes 2nd base. The ruling on this board (don't remember whose) was: R1 called out immediately, no need for appeal because it was a force. However, if it was the BR that missed 2nd, an unmistakeable appeal would be required.
I'd love to bring this up at an upcoming tournament (there's always great discussion under the umpire tent), but I want to back it up with the rule book.
Reply With Quote