The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 21, 2009, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I went backand reread the entire thread, and realized that we skipped over something, here. What is shown really isn't legal as a starting lineup.

To be legit, the coach needs to turn position 6 as his catcher (2), and position 8 as his DP; period. As soon as the lineup is accepted as official, he then announces that his DP will be playing catcher. Let the PU then mark whatever (or not).

In that case, as I said, I would note #8 now at 2, and #6 now at B. But I wouldn't take the starting linup that way (not sure I can't, just wouldn't).
Wouldn't this have implications for the CR rule? I don't have my book at work but doesn't it say that in the top of the first the catcher is the player listed at that the position in the starting lineup. So I'm thinking until the DP has actually caught, no CR?
________
condos in Pattaya

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 21, 2009, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Wouldn't this have implications for the CR rule? I don't have my book at work but doesn't it say that in the top of the first the catcher is the player listed at that the position in the starting lineup. So I'm thinking until the DP has actually caught, no CR?
If the DP is put in as F2 at the plate conference they they are the catcher of record, thus eligible for a CR in the top of the first if they make their way on base. Again a reason to keep track of the DP's activity on defense!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 09:29am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED View Post
If the DP is put in as F2 at the plate conference they they are the catcher of record, thus eligible for a CR in the top of the first if they make their way on base. Again a reason to keep track of the DP's activity on defense!
Correct me if I'm wrong, but making a change after the linesups have been accepted as official counts as a substitution. By rule, the visitors can only use a CR for those individuals listed in those positions in the starting lineup. Since we agree that players in the order 1 thru 9 must be designated a defensive position prior to accepting any substitutions, that means #6 (who would have to be listed as catcher in the starting lineup) would be eligibile for a CR in the top of the 1st and #8 would have to run for herself.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:03am
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but making a change after the linesups have been accepted as official counts as a substitution. By rule, the visitors can only use a CR for those individuals listed in those positions in the starting lineup. Since we agree that players in the order 1 thru 9 must be designated a defensive position prior to accepting any substitutions, that means #6 (who would have to be listed as catcher in the starting lineup) would be eligibile for a CR in the top of the 1st and #8 would have to run for herself.


The rule states "In the top of the first inning only, the pitcher and catcher are identified as those players listed on the line up as the pitcher and catcher." ASA 8-10-B

Since "starting lineup" isn't mentioned couldn't the FLEX be entered for F1 or F2?

EDIT PART; Assuming of course the F1, or F2 were the DP, or does 8-10-E have any bearing? The FLEX wouldn't technically become the DP.

Last edited by JEL; Wed Jul 29, 2009 at 10:31am. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 10:59am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
JEL:
I understand your point. However, I believe the intent of the rule is for F1 and F2 to receive the benefit of the CR as listed on the starting lineup. Since my lineup could conceiveably change multiple times during the top of the 1st, under your interpretation, I could have multiple CRs due to the fact as manager I could "change" who my F1 and/or F2 is during the top of the 1st.

Looks as if this would be a good case for an editorial change to clarify the matter.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 11:00am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Certainly the FLEX could enter for F1 or F2 after the lineups are accepted as official. However, the FLEX would not be entitled to a CR.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
JEL:
I understand your point. However, I believe the intent of the rule is for F1 and F2 to receive the benefit of the CR as listed on the starting lineup. Since my lineup could conceiveably change multiple times during the top of the 1st, under your interpretation, I could have multiple CRs due to the fact as manager I could "change" who my F1 and/or F2 is during the top of the 1st.

Looks as if this would be a good case for an editorial change to clarify the matter.
Speaking ASA

There is no change necessary. Actually, the rule is pretty clear.

The team batting in the top of the first is not going to have a defensive change. After that, what you have noted on your line-up card is relatively irrelevant as to who can or cannot enjoy the benefit of a courtesy runner.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 12:23pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking ASA

There is no change necessary. Actually, the rule is pretty clear.

The team batting in the top of the first is not going to have a defensive change. After that, what you have noted on your line-up card is relatively irrelevant as to who can or cannot enjoy the benefit of a courtesy runner.
While I do agree, I still see where an addition of the phrase "starting line-up" or line-up "as submitted" or (F1 and F2) "as listed by the coach" would simplify it some (to me anyway).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking ASA

There is no change necessary. Actually, the rule is pretty clear.

The team batting in the top of the first is not going to have a defensive change. After that, what you have noted on your line-up card is relatively irrelevant as to who can or cannot enjoy the benefit of a courtesy runner.
I think the point is what if the coach comes out and gives you a defensive change. Blue, that real slow runner who just got on, I've decided to have her catch next inning. *Turns around* Time, I've got a CR for my catcher.
Not taking the position change until it happens works great for every inning except the top of the 1st. For that we're applying common sense, but the rule could be more clear.
(Or in the incident case, at the plate meeting, I've decided to have my bench only hitter catch)
________
apartments for sale Pattaya

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:07pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Player-Parent-Coach Relationship" Article dacodee Basketball 6 Fri Jan 30, 2009 08:35am
"Beckoning Coach" for an injured player imagomer Basketball 11 Tue Nov 18, 2008 10:10pm
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
Grant time-out for "injured" player? RookieDude Basketball 17 Thu Dec 07, 2006 06:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1