The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Properly noting a "benched" defensive player (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/54033-properly-noting-benched-defensive-player.html)

wadeintothem Mon Jul 20, 2009 05:24pm

Properly noting a "benched" defensive player
 
As the start of the game (pregame), if a coach wants to defensively bench someone other than his DP, how should it be properly noted?


Order Position
1....... 6
2.........7
3........ 8
4........5
5........4
6 ........Not playing defense
7........3
8........DP/2
9........ 9
10........Flex/1


I've heard "10", I personally think leaving it blank is fine.

Is there a by the book way to do it?

This coach wants his flex tied to his catcher, not to the batter in the #6 spot and that is his strategy.

Steve M Mon Jul 20, 2009 06:32pm

Wade,
There's a couple of ways you might want to note this.
"B", for BENCH as the defensive position - I thought this was a pretty "SLICK" idea. Or, you might note "HO" for hitter only. Either way, you have noted what you ought to note.

Dholloway1962 Mon Jul 20, 2009 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wadeintothem (Post 615797)
As the start of the game (pregame), if a coach wants to defensively bench someone other than his DP, how should it be properly noted?


Order Position
1....... 6
2.........7
3........ 8
4........5
5........4
6 ........Not playing defense
7........3
8........DP/2
9........ 9
10........Flex/1


I've heard "10", I personally think leaving it blank is fine.

Is there a by the book way to do it?

This coach wants his flex tied to his catcher, not to the batter in the #6 spot and that is his strategy.

The DP and Flex can play defense together at any time. Doesn't have to be reported to umpire does it? Why do you even want to denote a "benched" player that is still in the lineup? Never heard of this creature :confused:

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jul 20, 2009 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dholloway1962 (Post 615827)
The DP and Flex can play defense together at any time. Doesn't have to be reported to umpire does it? Why do you even want to denote a "benched" player that is still in the lineup? Never heard of this creature :confused:

Defensive position changes must be reported in NCAA; to do that effectively, you need to mark it on your lineup.

I use 'B'; my teaching method is defensive bench. If DP or FLEX is out, dropping to 9, I use an 'X'.

Big Slick Tue Jul 21, 2009 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 615811)
Wade,
There's a couple of ways you might want to note this.
"B", for BENCH as the defensive position - I thought this was a pretty "SLICK" idea. Or, you might note "HO" for hitter only. Either way, you have noted what you ought to note.

As the other Steve said, only NCAA requires positions on the line up card. So in a game other than NCAA, why keep position changes, other than the pitcher and catcher of record, as they could have courtesy runners.

Even in NCAA where positions are required, there is only a penalty if someone is listed in the wrong position and makes a play. Therefore, you could have two players listed in F8.

wadeintothem Tue Jul 21, 2009 09:29am

The reason why the coach is asking is because so many umpires dont know the #$%$#$ rule that he gets grief at pregame and was asking me the best way to do it. He also said a UIC told him to put "10" there, which I dont agree with. I told him just leave it blank but I was just checking some other thoughts. Since this thread I told him to leave it blank and let the umpire put whatever they want there.

AtlUmpSteve Tue Jul 21, 2009 11:51am

I went backand reread the entire thread, and realized that we skipped over something, here. What is shown really isn't legal as a starting lineup.

To be legit, the coach needs to turn position 6 as his catcher (2), and position 8 as his DP; period. As soon as the lineup is accepted as official, he then announces that his DP will be playing catcher. Let the PU then mark whatever (or not).

In that case, as I said, I would note #8 now at 2, and #6 now at B. But I wouldn't take the starting linup that way (not sure I can't, just wouldn't).

wadeintothem Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:01pm

I kinda had that on my mind as well, if we were to require a dog and pony show line up and then a change.

wadeintothem Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:03pm

Reading that, that might be most legal. Have the 6 slot as F2, after it official, put the flex in at f2..

wadeintothem Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:07pm

Youre right, thats the best way to do it. In reviewing Rule 4 and considering eveyrthing and for the least grief for this coach from umpires, that would be the best way to do it and also it would be fully compliant with the letter of every single rule.

Thanks!
C

youngump Tue Jul 21, 2009 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 615943)
I went backand reread the entire thread, and realized that we skipped over something, here. What is shown really isn't legal as a starting lineup.

To be legit, the coach needs to turn position 6 as his catcher (2), and position 8 as his DP; period. As soon as the lineup is accepted as official, he then announces that his DP will be playing catcher. Let the PU then mark whatever (or not).

In that case, as I said, I would note #8 now at 2, and #6 now at B. But I wouldn't take the starting linup that way (not sure I can't, just wouldn't).

Wouldn't this have implications for the CR rule? I don't have my book at work but doesn't it say that in the top of the first the catcher is the player listed at that the position in the starting lineup. So I'm thinking until the DP has actually caught, no CR?
________
condos in Pattaya

SethPDX Tue Jul 21, 2009 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve M (Post 615811)
Or, you might note "HO" for hitter only...

Nobody noticed this yet? I'm disappointed...:p

Hope the coach doesn't get a good look at your lineup card...:D

DaveASA/FED Tue Jul 21, 2009 03:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 615989)
Wouldn't this have implications for the CR rule? I don't have my book at work but doesn't it say that in the top of the first the catcher is the player listed at that the position in the starting lineup. So I'm thinking until the DP has actually caught, no CR?

If the DP is put in as F2 at the plate conference they they are the catcher of record, thus eligible for a CR in the top of the first if they make their way on base. Again a reason to keep track of the DP's activity on defense!

DaveASA/FED Tue Jul 21, 2009 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 616049)
Nobody noticed this yet? I'm disappointed...:p

Hope the coach doesn't get a good look at your lineup card...:D

Yes I noticed I was thinking if you needed to talk to that player you could just say " Hay HO" but that might land you into some hot water....best to just make defensive changes as you would offensive player subs. Make out the position and write in the new one....for the player going to the bench they have their original position marked out with no new postion listed they must be riding the pine.

CecilOne Wed Jul 29, 2009 07:54am

Agree with original lineup must show starting positions.
And, tracking DP on defense for whom is needed to figure possible BOO and ensure less confusion about FLEX status.
Also, having coaches report all changes is less likely to have something actually need be unreported. I tell them there are 9 things they can do and I need to know 8 of them, so report all.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1