The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 04, 2009, 03:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
ASA Rule Clarifications

With no outs and R1 on 2B, B2 hits a line drive to F7. R1 is off on the hit and headed toward 3B when F7 misses the sinking line drive and knocks the ball forward on the ground in front of him. While running in and trying to scoop up the ball, F7 kicks the ball into the 3B dugout. When the ball entered the 3B dugout, R1 is two steps from 3B and B2 is not yet to 1B. Which bases should R1 and B2 be awarded?

RULING: R1 is awarded home and B2 is awarded 2B. The ball being kicked into dead ball territory would be treated the same as if F7 threw the ball into dead ball territory. Each runner would be awarded two bases from the time the ball left F7ís foot.

(Rule 8, Section 5G)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
So would that mean...

PLAY: No outs, no base runners. B1 hits a high infield fly. F5 misplays the ball over fair territory. The ball bounces off F5's head into dead ball territory. At the time the ball hit F5's head, B1 is two steps past first. RULING: B1 is awarded third base.

Or is it different because in the original play F7 supplied extra "force" via the kick?
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 93
Please see my OP at ????

What's different? I'm confused!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 93
BTW IRISH: Is this from ASA website or what is your reference?

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
With no outs and R1 on 2B, B2 hits a line drive to F7. R1 is off on the hit and headed toward 3B when F7 misses the sinking line drive and knocks the ball forward on the ground in front of him. While running in and trying to scoop up the ball, F7 kicks the ball into the 3B dugout. When the ball entered the 3B dugout, R1 is two steps from 3B and B2 is not yet to 1B. Which bases should R1 and B2 be awarded?

RULING: R1 is awarded home and B2 is awarded 2B. The ball being kicked into dead ball territory would be treated the same as if F7 threw the ball into dead ball territory. Each runner would be awarded two bases from the time the ball left F7ís foot.

(Rule 8, Section 5G)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumpire View Post
Please see my OP at ????

What's different? I'm confused!!
batted v. thrown
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumpire View Post
btw irish: Is this from asa website or what is your reference?

Thanks.
nus
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
batted v. thrown
Still confused....if F7 "...knocks the ball forward on the ground in front of him", then "...kicks the ball into the 3B dugout." "RULING: The ball being kicked into dead ball territory would be treated the same as if F7 threw the ball into dead ball territory. Each runner would be awarded two bases from the time the ball left F7’s foot."

"Thrown ball hits fence between 3B and HP, F5 attempts to field it on rebound, and knocks it over the fence with his glove (unintentionally, IMO)." (From my OP)

Can't follow diff between "kicks" and "knocks...with glove".

If, in your OP, F7's initial touch is negated by kick, then why is RF's throw (in my OP) not negated when ball hits fence and rebounds towards field of play?

Last edited by gumpire; Sun Jul 05, 2009 at 04:00pm. Reason: Bold type is applied by me.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 05, 2009, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
ASA's rules or interpretations never specifically addressed this scenario. For that matter, it STILL does not address a deflected fair batted ball leaving the field of play in fair territory!

Here is the difference as I see it. In the interpretation offered on the batted ball, there is no point where the defense ever controlled the ball, yet they caused the ball to leave the field of play.

In your scenario, the defense did possess and throw the ball, which is clearly covered in the rule book and has been for years. The rules specifically state that runners are awarded two bases from the time of the release of the throw. This award is not reset every time that thrown ball touches another defender even if that contact redirected or caused the ball to enter DBT.

The rules do address if the defender receives the ball and loses it attempting a tag, but that was not your scenario.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
May ASA Rule Clarifications and Plays Tru_in_Blu Softball 11 Sun May 10, 2009 09:58pm
June Rule Clarifications SRW Softball 3 Tue Jun 05, 2007 01:10am
Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 1 Sun Apr 02, 2006 04:04pm
FED rule changes/clarifications that are needed blindzebra Basketball 27 Wed Mar 09, 2005 09:04am
NCAA - RULE CLARIFICATIONS hoopsrefBC Basketball 1 Wed Nov 22, 2000 09:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1