![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Still confused....if F7 "...knocks the ball forward on the ground in front of him", then "...kicks the ball into the 3B dugout." "RULING: The ball being kicked into dead ball territory would be treated the same as if F7 threw the ball into dead ball territory. Each runner would be awarded two bases from the time the ball left F7’s foot."
"Thrown ball hits fence between 3B and HP, F5 attempts to field it on rebound, and knocks it over the fence with his glove (unintentionally, IMO)." (From my OP) Can't follow diff between "kicks" and "knocks...with glove". If, in your OP, F7's initial touch is negated by kick, then why is RF's throw (in my OP) not negated when ball hits fence and rebounds towards field of play? Last edited by gumpire; Sun Jul 05, 2009 at 04:00pm. Reason: Bold type is applied by me. |
|
|||
|
ASA's rules or interpretations never specifically addressed this scenario. For that matter, it STILL does not address a deflected fair batted ball leaving the field of play in fair territory!
![]() Here is the difference as I see it. In the interpretation offered on the batted ball, there is no point where the defense ever controlled the ball, yet they caused the ball to leave the field of play. In your scenario, the defense did possess and throw the ball, which is clearly covered in the rule book and has been for years. The rules specifically state that runners are awarded two bases from the time of the release of the throw. This award is not reset every time that thrown ball touches another defender even if that contact redirected or caused the ball to enter DBT. The rules do address if the defender receives the ball and loses it attempting a tag, but that was not your scenario. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| May ASA Rule Clarifications and Plays | Tru_in_Blu | Softball | 11 | Sun May 10, 2009 09:58pm |
| June Rule Clarifications | SRW | Softball | 3 | Tue Jun 05, 2007 01:10am |
| Rule Clarifications | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 1 | Sun Apr 02, 2006 04:04pm |
| FED rule changes/clarifications that are needed | blindzebra | Basketball | 27 | Wed Mar 09, 2005 09:04am |
| NCAA - RULE CLARIFICATIONS | hoopsrefBC | Basketball | 1 | Wed Nov 22, 2000 09:46am |