![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Do I remember correctly that this is only true in ASA?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't know what other associations have to say about this. Someone else will have to speak to that.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
ASA 7.2.D.2 a. The player who should have batted is out. b. Any advance of runners and any run scored shall be nullified. All outs made stand. c. The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. d. If the batter declared out is the third out, the correct batter to lead off the next inning shall be the player who would have come to bat had the player been put out by ordinary play. Exception: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat, and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter. NFHS, however, only takes one out in this situation. The at bat by the incorrect batter is 'negated'. NFHS 7.2 Penalty #2: When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the next pitch (legal or illegal), or prior to an intentional base on balls (S.P.), or before the infielders leave the diamond if a half-inning is ending: The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). The improper batter's time at bat is negated and she is returned to the dugout/bench area. All outs stand and runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. If a runner advances because of a stolen base , wild pitch, passed ball (F.P) or an illegal pitch (F.P.) while the improper batter is at bat, such advance is legal.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|