![]() |
|
|
|||
I have a different BOO question. Assume a standard 1-9 lineup no dp/flex
Batter #4 comes up when #3 is suppossed to be up and completes an at bat at which point the DC notes the BOO. If Batter #4 reached base then Batter #3 is declared out, Runners all return, and Batter #4 is up again. If Batter #4 was out then Batter #3 is declared out (only one out though not two outs) and batter #5 is now up. This seems confusing to me, I would think Batter #4 should be up again regardless of the result of her at bat, but the way I read ASA 7.2.D.2.Exception that places #5 up next. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
Do I remember correctly that this is only true in ASA?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't know what other associations have to say about this. Someone else will have to speak to that.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
ASA 7.2.D.2 a. The player who should have batted is out. b. Any advance of runners and any run scored shall be nullified. All outs made stand. c. The next batter is the player whose name follows that of the player called out for failing to bat. d. If the batter declared out is the third out, the correct batter to lead off the next inning shall be the player who would have come to bat had the player been put out by ordinary play. Exception: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat, and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter. NFHS, however, only takes one out in this situation. The at bat by the incorrect batter is 'negated'. NFHS 7.2 Penalty #2: When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the next pitch (legal or illegal), or prior to an intentional base on balls (S.P.), or before the infielders leave the diamond if a half-inning is ending: The umpire shall declare the batter who should have batted out (not the improper batter). The improper batter's time at bat is negated and she is returned to the dugout/bench area. All outs stand and runners who were not declared out must return to the base occupied at the time of the pitch. If a runner advances because of a stolen base , wild pitch, passed ball (F.P) or an illegal pitch (F.P.) while the improper batter is at bat, such advance is legal.
__________________
Mark NFHS, NCAA, NAFA "If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men" |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
It makes sense now that I understand both players are out due to the "all outs stand" portion of the rule preceding the exception. I was confused reading the execption because it didn't specifically restate that the out on the OOO batter stands as well.
Is the "negate" term interpreted correct for NFHS in the post preceding? such that it would not be two outs for NFHS in this same situation? That's what my confusion is here, using terms like "negate" "skip" with "all outs stand" needs clarification IMO. |
|
|||
Quote:
________ MEDICALMARIJUANA DISPENSARIES Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 07:11pm. |
|
|||
Let me muddy the water on this; there are three different rules out there on related plays. R1 is on 2nd, R2 on 1st with no outs, B3 supposed to bat, but B4 bats instead, and hits into a 6-4-3 double play. DC appeals BOO before the next pitch.
ASA ruling; keep all outs, so R2 out in force, B3 out on BOO, B4 out on the play. Three outs, B5 bats leadoff next inning. NFHS ruling; keep all "OTHER" outs EXCEPT the incorrect batter, so R2 out on force, R1 returns to 2nd (advance negated), B3 out on BOO, B4 play negated. Two outs, B4 bats (again) with R1 on 2nd. NCAA ruling; negate all play, so R1 returns to 2nd, R2 returns to 1st, B3 out on BOO, B4 play negated. One out, B4 now bats with R1 on 2nd and R2 1st. Now, how can all three major associations have 3 different rulings on a basic rule? But, they do; and if the NCAA coach makes the appeal, it hurts the offended team!!
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
When ASA first introduced this rule, I was sure it would be something I would never see.
First game of the year, first batter gets on, then B3 hits into a double play. An unbelievably alert coach brought the BOO to my attention and, sure enough, I had three outs on two pitches! ![]() Love the ASA rule.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't do NCAA, but I think that if the coach discovered someone batting out of order during an AB, the correct batter could step in and assume the ball and strike count.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
Larry |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|