![]() |
|
|||
Umpire Error
First I would like to thank all of you who tried to answer my post.
I am sorry I did no clarify the situation enough. I am going to give it one more try. Slow Pitch Softball Home plate umpire calls the batter out for being out of the batter box. The batter did step up but there was no box being used. The only lines on the field were the foul lines. There was a runner on first and second. The umpires met and ruled that although the batter did step up there were no lines so they could not determine if the batter would have stepped all the way out of the box when contact with the ball was made. The umpires ruled that: Batter gets first base, the runner on first gets third, and the runner from second scored. They used their judgment at the time the ball was picked up by the outfielder. (The outfielders did not hear the batter out call so they made a normal play on the ball.) The offensive team protests the game because they felt the umpire did not know the rule. The offensive team enden up losing by one run. Is this misinterpretation of a rule or not because they changed their call? Can you call "out of the box" if there is no box being utilized? Thanks for any help! This is a prison league and these guys complain about every call. Sometimes even when it is in their favor. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Umpire Error | rottiron01 | Softball | 26 | Sun Jun 07, 2009 07:37pm |
Is NFHS Case Book Play 2.10.1 Sit. G(d) (re: corr. error situation) really an error? | rpirtle | Basketball | 3 | Wed Dec 24, 2008 03:25pm |
Umpire Error--Ruling? | Young IN Ref | Softball | 13 | Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:31am |
Umpire error ? | debeau | Softball | 1 | Tue Oct 04, 2005 07:42am |
Umpire Error | Marty Rogers | Baseball | 4 | Thu Apr 25, 2002 02:15pm |