![]() |
|
|||
NFHS Unreported sub rule
What is the penalty for an unreported sub hitter, caught before first a pitch, after a pitch or after reaching base safely?
I know this may be redundant. I have searched all threads, read the rule book and am still unclear (or just to thick). Thanks |
|
|||
Remember, the ball must be made live before the unreported substitute is in the game. So in the case of before a pitch has been made if the ball has not been made live there is no warning. See Rule 3-3-d and 3-3-e.
Once the unreported sub has met the criteria for being in the game (3-3-a through d) and the ball has been made live then the penalty stated by Dakota is correct. |
|
|||
Quote:
In all cases (presuming th at it is a LEGAL sub, just unreported.... 1st time :Team warning next time: Offender and Coach restricted (or in FL Ejected) Not sure how you missed it in the rule book: ART. 2 . . . Unreported Substitute. An unreported substitute is a substitute who has a legal right to participate in the game but has not reported to the umpire prior to her participation (3-6-7). All substitutions must be reported to the umpire. NOTE: A courtesy runner is not a substitute, but must be reported to the umpire. (8-9-7) 3-6-7: ART. 7 . . . Players and substitutes shall not enter the contest unreported PENALTY: (Arts. 2 through 10) The umpire shall issue a team warning to the coach of the team involved and the next offender on that team shall be restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game. (snip)(Art. 7) The head coach is also restricted to the dugout/bench for the remainder of the game. Last edited by HugoTafurst; Sun May 10, 2009 at 01:14pm. Reason: html |
|
|||
Blue called her out.
Happened twice in the game. First time the legal unreported sub had 1 pitch thrown, she was simply reported and moved on. Second time was after she reached base safely. Blue called her out, sent runners back.
In the second instance it was the Flex hitting for the DP. So it's not that I missed it (I gave up I might be too thick to understand), but the umps call had me questioning my understanding of what I read. By the way it wasn't my team. |
|
|||
That would be the correct thing to do, so long as a warning was given to the coach. Unless you were the coach, you probably would not know that a warning had been given. There is no drama involved.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
The only time I had an unreported sub this year was in an NFHS JV game.
A visiting team player came to bat and got a hit and the home team scorekeeper started making all kinds of ruckus about how that batter was not in the game...hey blue...she should be out..etc, etc...Of course, I just ignored her. The home team coach then called for time out and asked me about it. I pulled out my lineup card and sure enough, the sub had not been reported. I informed the home team coach what the procedure was, a warning to the visiting team coach, next occurrance would be a restriction to the bench. Home coach says, "OK, thanks" I go the the visiting coach in the third base coaches box, before I even get there, he says. "Yep, I know..I forgot to report her in the game." I tell the coach that we are entering her in the game and this is a warning..."OK, blue...my fault, sorry about that." I turn to both dugouts and announce the substitution. Home team scorekeeper goes nuts! "What...that's it!?!? That's an out, she should be out! C'mon Blue...why isn't she out?" I, of course, ignored her and resumed the game. After the completion of the half inning, against my better judgement, I walked over to the fence and tried to explain the proper ruling for NFHS to the scorekeeper. She looks at me skeptically the whole time and says "I want to see that in writing" So I tell her that it is written down in the rulebook. No good deed.....
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
"Coach, please get your score keeper under control...Thanks" If they persist. ohhh well.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
NFHS Rule 6-1-c | BlitzkriegBob | Softball | 7 | Sun Apr 19, 2009 07:43pm |
unreported sub NFHS | softball_junky | Softball | 11 | Thu Oct 11, 2007 03:10pm |
NFHS unreported sub | shipwreck | Softball | 2 | Wed Aug 30, 2006 07:13pm |
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) | KWH | Football | 27 | Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am |
NFHS Rules Unreported Sub | whiskers_ump | Softball | 9 | Wed Feb 06, 2002 11:09am |