The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcblue View Post
Wouldn't R3 also score? R3 made it home before the appeal.
Because the third out was not a force out, whether or not the run scores is, indeed, a timing play. As a result, yes, the run would score. The appeal should not have been honored, so the appeal is irrelevant in this situation.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
The appeal is irrelevant to R3, but R2 does not score because of the appeal. So two runs not three score.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcblue View Post
The appeal is irrelevant to R3, but R2 does not score because of the appeal. So two runs not three score.
No, only one run would score since the final out of the inning (R2) preceded the third runner (R3).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 10, 2009, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Because the third out was not a force out, whether or not the run scores is, indeed, a timing play. As a result, yes, the run would score. The appeal should not have been honored, so the appeal is irrelevant in this situation.
Sheesh, I should have read this sitch better. My answer above is dead wrong, and I apologize if anyone paid any attention to it.

The key to this situation is that the BR was called out. As a result, all forces are off. Since the force is no longer in effect, the appeal becomes a timing play.

Only R1 scores.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
June Rule Clarifications SRW Softball 3 Tue Jun 05, 2007 01:10am
Rule Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 1 Sun Apr 02, 2006 04:04pm
How would you rule on these plays. gordon30307 Baseball 45 Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:28am
FED rule changes/clarifications that are needed blindzebra Basketball 27 Wed Mar 09, 2005 09:04am
NCAA - RULE CLARIFICATIONS hoopsrefBC Basketball 1 Wed Nov 22, 2000 09:46am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1