![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Youngump, you are confusing and mixing a few different issues.
The penalty notes that the ball becomes dead at the end of playing action if the ball is pitched, not that the penalty is applied based on the results of playing action. The purpose is to allow the possibility of the batter hitting the ball or becoming a baserunner. Granted the wording is unclear, and might lead to your conclusion, but the award is a ball on the batter and a base to all baserunners without liability to be put out. And, that award is from the time of the pitch; that is when it became illegal, and that is the time it is called, therefore, like all other awarded bases, that is the basic time of the award. So, if the ball is not hit, and the batter does not become a batterrunner, the penalty MUST be applied. No option, even if the runners circle the bases like a merry-go-round. In your sit1, what you originally thought (but overthought). In your sit2, the coach has no option, either; the ball was not hit, the batter did not become a batterrunner, so the OC has no available option, just the illegal pitch remedy. So, to summarize, the enforcement in NFHS is absolute; the coach ONLY has the option if the ball is hit or the batter becomes a baserunner. If either condition is met, the coach ALWAYS has an option; if neither condition is met, the coach has NO option. In NCAA and ASA, the enforcement is different. The coach always has the option, as long as the ball is pitched; UNLESS batter and all runners advance at least one base safely (then the result of the play always stands, without a coach's option).
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The ball is dead at the end of playing action, if the ball is pitched. Thanks Steve for breaking it down. Perhaps, the right way to square this is that if the award is from TOP then they weren't out at the awarded base since they had no liability. But if the out is after the awarded base it's meant to stand. And subsequent advances are fine because they advanced during a live ball before being awarded the previous base. Much like stealing third from first after the batter gets ball 4. If the runners aren't actively moving, call time immediately, if they are wait and see. One small thing: Quote:
________ Depakote Attorneys Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:49pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
No subsequent action also means they cannot be out at any base; not at, prior to, or even after the awarded base. They are, as the award states, granted that award without liability. If they overrun in play that didn't happen, then they still aren't out. Once the ball is not hit, and the batter does not become a batter-runner, nothing has happened; the dead ball from the illegal pitch is the only possible result in NFHS. In NCAA and ASA, since there is always the option, then subsequent play remains. But if the coach can and does accept the award, the award is one base from the time of the pitch; even if they overran that awarded base and were out in the play that has been declined by the coach with the option. All of A (the award for the illegal pitch; or all of B (the result of the play). Period.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
________ Marijuana Card Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:49pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| State finals illegal uniform redux | Amesman | Basketball | 16 | Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:41am |
| Rules, yet no penalty (helmet thread redux) | aceholleran | Baseball | 9 | Thu Jul 20, 2006 12:26pm |
| Illegal pitch penalty | U of M Sam | Softball | 10 | Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:10am |
| When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 4 | Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm |
| Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? | Deion | Softball | 15 | Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm |